Droid 2 root

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by willdabeast44, Apr 8, 2011.

  1. willdabeast44

    willdabeast44 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey im kinda a newbie to this, but im going to root my droid 2 and was wondering if there's anything I should do beforehand to back it up? I was also wondering what apps to get once I root it, I know titanium backup is good but if I have that do I need to buy d2 bootstrap? Last question is rom manager the best app to download and manage new roms?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  2. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Rom manager sucks. Bootstrap is required for roms. Look around and see on the other info you asked for.

    Droid. The first Droid. The best Droid. My Droid. And boy do I hate stock.
     
  3. willdabeast44

    willdabeast44 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is the bootstraper the only app I need for downloading and setting up roms?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  4. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    Pretty much.....ROM manager doesn't work for the D2 or the DX from everything I have seen and experienced. I still have it on my D2 but only because I got it when I had my D1. Now it's all about D2 Bootstraper....and TBH for leaks ;)
     
  5. willdabeast44

    willdabeast44 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright thanks nerdslogic that was really helpful. one more question is root explorer worth its cost and is it needed?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  6. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    Astro is free and does same thing. So is Adeo....I have em both. I also have Root Explorer but I am also addicted to getting new apps. So don't mind me.
     
  7. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    No app is needed to download roms. Root explorer does nothing terminal emulator won't, but the interface if graphical instead of text.

    Droid. The first Droid. The best Droid. My Droid. And boy do I hate stock.
     
Search tags for this page

droid2root