Poor 3G signal

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by mjforte, Mar 20, 2011.

  1. mjforte
    Offline

    mjforte Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Does anyone else with a Thunderbolt in a non 4G area have low signal for 3G? With my OG Droid I had full bars pretty much everywhere but with the Thunderbolt I have 0-2 bars at best in the same places.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  2. Jumper2501
    Offline

    Jumper2501 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I'm in the same boat. My D1 had pretty good reception, no matter where I was. My TB is definitely behind in that department. I'm still happy, though.
  3. mkjellgren
    Offline

    mkjellgren New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    Not me. My 3g signal is as good or better than it was with my d1. Data speeds seem faster as well...

    Sent from my ADR6400L
  4. toadzilla
    Offline

    toadzilla New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was trying to update my roaming with *228 because of the difference in the signal strength. Then I found out about the issues with the sim card and how it automatically does this without having to dial it.

    Sent from my Thunderbolt
  5. antonfire321
    Offline

    antonfire321 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My thunderbolt gets horrible 3g compared to my d1 also
  6. Blackhawk55
    Offline

    Blackhawk55 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I am curious whether these reports are all based on the bars icon or are you having trouble connecting or making calls? I've always read that comparing two phones' bars is not a reliable method. In other words, how they each set the bar icon doesn't really show that one is having reception problem. JW
  7. hemorrdroid
    Offline

    hemorrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    Yeah, my D1 always had more bars than my TB does, however I get much better speeds with 3G on the TB.
  8. mitchb2
    Offline

    mitchb2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same here. 1x at work. D1 never had that issue.
  9. rg0019
    Offline

    rg0019 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree too about the 3g coverage with the TB. I have been comming to San Antonio for business the last month. I drive from San Antonio to Hondo, Tx. Its about a 40 minute drive west of SA.

    With my D1, I would get 3g coverage all the way down I-90 while listening to Pandora or Slacker.

    I drove in last night and I was getting 1x coverage and the music would go in and out. A couple of time, slacker would just quit because it was saying that it was not receiving a signal.
  10. mjforte
    Offline

    mjforte Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah the weird thing is even with 1 bar I get decent data speeds on speedtest. But in cell standby in battery use it always says a time without signal at around 30%.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  11. skeptik
    Offline

    skeptik New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver,CO
    I think its a Verizon issue.. my D1 has been bouncing all over the place... well since the iphone launch. Grr...

    Sent from mah Droid1 using this forum app thing thing...
  12. antonfire321
    Offline

    antonfire321 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine also says its standby is about 30%
  13. electric6
    Offline

    electric6 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    guys I am having the same issue. At work everybody has verizon, but two have DX's, one has a droid 2, and the rest have feature phones. I cant put three of the said other big red phones next to mine, and they will reliably get 3-4 bars, while my thunderbolt struggles to hold onto one?? Anybody have a clue why this is? Its really shi**y considering I switched from att to get a better signal in the first place... :icon_evil:
  14. mitchb2
    Offline

    mitchb2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's garbage. We need to bombard vz with phone calls.
    1x? Seriously?
  15. electric6
    Offline

    electric6 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    hmmm yeah im wondering if its either the quality of the anntane(spelled wrong im sure) or if its a vzw issue, and just needs a software update to fix. I hope its just an update, because I thought HTC made good devices??
  16. wvdroidman
    Offline

    wvdroidman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm guessing this is probably what cause all of the unconfirmed delays. They probably thought they had it fixed and released it. Sad thing is you can't do an ota update. Even though I live in a 3g area I can't use a ota update.
  17. iOSh8er
    Offline

    iOSh8er New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Seriously, everyone with this issue needs to report it. I just called tech support and was told it was due to the phone attempting to get the best signal possible. I changed the phone to 3g only and my dl speeds suck! I plan to go to my local corporatestore and report the problem.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  18. electric6
    Offline

    electric6 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I spent 2 hours thursday with the CSR's trying to fix it. Then I spent an hour in my corp store up the street trying to fix it. They gave me a "trouble ticket" and said their network team would call me within 3 days to help find the issue. I'm betting dollars to donuts that its one of two things:

    The LTE sim card

    OR

    Needs an OTA.

    It could be both, but lets stay optimistic. And remember we ARE early adopters, so some of this is to be expected. Doesnt keep me from having a temper tantrum at work tho lol.
  19. iOSh8er
    Offline

    iOSh8er New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did they agree that there was an issue with it? How did the signal compare with other phones in the store?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  20. electric6
    Offline

    electric6 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    So big red is aknowledging the issue. Heres somebody over at ac saying the reps are putting it on the top!

    Just spoke to Verizon Tech Support about the issue. They are aware, and it has been taken to the "highest level" for resolution. But I could not get them to commit to a time frame. But they did acknowledge that it is a network issue not a device issue.

    I guess we just have to wait for a OTA fix. Baseband update im guessing...
Search tags for this page
amici subdivision low 3g 4g signal
,
droid 2 low 3g signal
,
htc bad 3g
,
htc thunderbolt having had time finding wireless signal
,
htc thunderbolt poor network service
,
htc thunderbolt poor wifi
,
net 10 poor cell signal strength samsung zte
,

net 10 weak 3g signal

,
poor 3g reception droid x2