Poor 3G signal

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by mjforte, Mar 20, 2011.

  1. kerrdj

    kerrdj Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i did a factory reset and my signal is great now
     
  2. RedTarget

    RedTarget Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have only noticed an increase in 3g speed since switching to the thunderbolt. Right before I switched from my OG Droid I ran a speedtest with 2136 down and 689 up. Switched to the bolt which did 2758 down and 1146 up. Signal was also showing as -57dBm. Better than what my Droid had done. Still love the Droid... However the bolt is here to stay!


    Sent from my Thunderbolt using DroidForums App
     
  3. ericcsong

    ericcsong Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    just did a reset on mine. hope it helps!
     
  4. mitchb2

    mitchb2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Factory reset is an unacceptable solution. It took me hours to get everything set up.
     
  5. cereal killer

    cereal killer Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,255
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,423
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    seems it won't be going away neither.

    This from Winston over on HoFo
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I can add this on the Thunderbolt, it was pushed out for a release date. There is no chance that phone gets released as is from any other manufacturer or from Verizon unless it was "first".

    Those 3G/4G issues will continue. Try a drive test as well and see if your data stays consistent. The positive is that they aren't doing VoLTE so you won't drop calls.

    I think the Thunderbolt should have been a descent phone but they screwed it up in the rush to release it.
     
  6. electric6

    electric6 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    [/QUOTE]
    seems it won't be going away neither.

    This from Winston over on HoFo
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I can add this on the Thunderbolt, it was pushed out for a release date. There is no chance that phone gets released as is from any other manufacturer or from Verizon unless it was "first".

    Those 3G/4G issues will continue. Try a drive test as well and see if your data stays consistent. The positive is that they aren't doing VoLTE so you won't drop calls.

    I think the Thunderbolt should have been a descent phone but they screwed it up in the rush to release it. [/QUOTE]

    i think i have figured out something, that is at least a small relief for my issue. When my phone displays one bar of signal, and the two random verizon phones on either side display 3-4, my phone is actually reading
    -87dBm's, while the other two devices are reading -97dBm's. I believe this means that my phone is actually recieving a better signal than the other two phones, but it is displaying only 1 signal bar of strength. Somebody correct me if I'm wrong, but isnt that the most accurate method to determine signal strength?

    Also, i have noticed where I work as long as it displays 3g, i can always use data and make and recieve calls, and even without "3G" showing, i can at least make and recieve calls and they are still very clear.
     
  7. ericcsong

    ericcsong Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    tested making a call on 1x after a hard reset. works fine now!
     
  8. BigMcGuire

    BigMcGuire Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Ratings:
    +2
    This seems to be the case. At home, without my network extender, I get about -98dBm. I recently activated my old Droid 1 on an unused family plan line ($30/mo, why not?) and had it sit next to my Thunderbolt. My Thunderbolt showed -80-92dBm but had 1 bar. My Droid 1 showed -90-110dBm and had 3-4 bars when I unplugged the network extender.

    This is probably why people are complaining of worse reception when in fact they're getting better. Signal bars are an inaccurate way of gauging reception imo. Because on my Thunderbolt, even with 0 bars I was able to make a really clear phone call a few days ago.
     
    #44 BigMcGuire, Mar 24, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2011
  9. bamfsig45

    bamfsig45 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    882
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ICT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im completely frustrated with this. 4 times since Monday I have had to reboot my TBolt to get 3G data back. Most recently was this morning when grabbing the phone for the first time and noticed I had 4 bars but no 3g or 1x icon, Had to reboot...I dont live in a 4G area yet. Unacceptable.
     
  10. BigMcGuire

    BigMcGuire Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Ratings:
    +2
    I had the 4x to 3x to 1x issue the day I bought the phone, but I haven't had that issue since then. People are still having this today?
     
  11. electric6

    electric6 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah what you are describing has been my ecperience exactly. You know, this is panning out just like the dinc's initial release. It had this exact same signal bar issue as well. lol im not worried about it anymore, gonna keep this power hungry beast afterall!! Best 320 bucks i ever spent.
     
  12. mitchb2

    mitchb2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had nothing but 1x since Monday, and that's in the same physical locations that originally had 3g/4g. I guess I'll replace the phone and see what happens.

    Edit: Vz tech had me pull the battery and also the SIM card. Came back up and has been on 4g ever since. At work, I still don't expect anything at home.
     
    #48 mitchb2, Mar 24, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2011
Search tags for this page
amici subdivision low 3g 4g signal
,
droid 2 low 3g signal
,
htc bad 3g
,
htc thunderbolt having had time finding wireless signal
,
htc thunderbolt poor network service
,
htc thunderbolt poor wifi
,
net 10 poor cell signal strength samsung zte
,

net 10 weak 3g signal

,
poor 3g reception droid x2