Please Help!

Discussion in 'Droid X Rooted Help' started by monroene, Apr 13, 2011.

  1. monroene
    Offline

    monroene New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scottsbluff, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am very new to this and am trying to find out what to do. I let a friend root my DX and now I need it back to stock but I am no longer friends with this person. He did it all with his computer and then handed me the rooted phone. I have These are the new apps I see on my phone ROM Manager, Quick Boot, Superuser Permission. Please help me in giving me steps in putting it back to factory. I am in dire need!
     
  2. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +13
    Google search here on the forums for "Droid x SBF Droid forums". Had a new user with the same problem and he said the instructions were super easy to follow. Let me know if you need further help. Good luck!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  3. monroene
    Offline

    monroene New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scottsbluff, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry Don't Know

    Okay so I read through each one and didn't find the one you are talking about. A couple of the links have been removed and some are for the original droid. I don't have anything really to go on. I don't know if I am supoose to flash my phone first or what. I am still lost I'm sorry.
     
  4. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    check the last link in my signature. that is imo the best tutorial for sbfing the droid x. as always if you have any questions post them either in there or in here. someone will be along to help.
     
  5. monroene
    Offline

    monroene New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scottsbluff, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry more questions?

    So I need to make a backup of bootstrap? I have bootstap on my phone but don't know how to make a backup. I read the Koush's Droid X Bootstrapper but I didn't see anything about a backup. Can I follow the instructions in your last post of step number 5 and not make a backup? I wish there was a step 1, 2, 3, etc that was available it would be so much easier for me to understand.
     
  6. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you're trying to get completely back to stock with no root then the easiest way would be to just use z4root to unroot your phone however if you've used the bootstrap especially to flash a rom then that isn't going to really get rid of all traces of root. i may have gotten ahead of myself. what is the reason you need the phone back to stock?
     
  7. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
  8. monroene
    Offline

    monroene New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scottsbluff, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    It keeps freezing up I have to take out my battery up to 6 times a day. The first time I take it out is because it goes straight to clockwork mod recovery v2.5.0.6 I am going to send my phone in to verizon and don't want any trace of root. This friend had all the stuff on his computer then won't change it back for me now. I hooked up a different phone on my line because the DX kept freezing.
     
  9. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    forgot about that, yeah that would be a lot easier.
     
  10. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    then i would take abe's advice and flash the madderstock zip. it's very easy and you just have to flash it in clockwor. it will bring you to a complete out of the box state.
     
  11. monroene
    Offline

    monroene New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scottsbluff, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's not a working phone on the network that is I hooked up a different phone because of the problems
     
  12. monroene
    Offline

    monroene New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scottsbluff, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hooked up a different phone because the DX was freezing.
     
  13. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    it doesn't need to be hooked up to the network in order to flash that file. if it can be booted up and then booted in to clockwork recover from the bootstrap app then you just need to place the .zip on the sd card.
     
  14. monroene
    Offline

    monroene New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scottsbluff, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, I will give it my best shot thank you and sorry for all the posts. So just follow the steps or go straight to sbf flashing?
     
  15. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    follow the instructions from this thread

    maderstcok - OTA 2.3.340 update.zip

    if that doesn't work for some reason then we can move on to sbf flashing but i don't think you'll need to.