1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Please help with text messaging

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by martin31, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. martin31
    Offline

    martin31 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As great as the phone seems to be it seems to have many quirks, then again it could just be the user. Does anyone know how to create a text message and send it to more than 1 person. it seems when i try I have to type in each individuals phone number which seems ridiculous to me. there has to be an easier way to pull from contacts right? thanks
  2. k2m2u2
    Offline

    k2m2u2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am looking for info on the same problem. It would be nice if you could select from the contact list - multiple people etc.
  3. rgb2448
    Offline

    rgb2448 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    download Handcent from the market it is free, then you can choose from the contact list.
  4. k2m2u2
    Offline

    k2m2u2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Which Handcent? Handcent Keyboard, SMS, Font Packs?
  5. alm0614
    Offline

    alm0614 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it says Handcent SMS (NEW)
  6. martin31
    Offline

    martin31 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks!! downloaded it and it looks nice but it doesnt let me chose contacts they are all grayed out.
  7. k2m2u2
    Offline

    k2m2u2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sweet, this is great. Thank you
  8. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Just type in the contact name, it will auto complete and drop a comma, then type next name and so forth.
  9. martin31
    Offline

    martin31 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it works great, the only problem is evrytime i get a text its coming into handcent and the default text and the message notification of the home page doesnt go away..
  10. crspang
    Offline

    crspang New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    in the "to" line start typing a name and choose the one you want, then start typing another name choose that one and so on and so on.
  11. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Open the default app and disable notifications in the menu....
  12. chrisd56
    Offline

    chrisd56 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You must have the contact set as "mobile" in each contact's profile or auto correct will not search the name.

    Once you do that after you get one contact in there will be a comma after it, then just type the next name and so on.
  13. x25064
    Offline

    x25064 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Like someone else said, go into Android SMS settings (on your inbox screen), go to the notifications option, and disable notifications. Now go into your settings for Handcent (tool icon in the top right) and scroll down to notifications to make sure they are on.

    You can also customize the popup and reminders etc. For example I disabled the popups because they were aggrivating and got in the way (when you have the notification panel you don't need that crap anyway) and I enabled the reminder so that my phone will wake itself out of sleep mode and flash the screen so that if I am driving with music, in a movie, meeting, etc, I will be able to see that my phone has an incoming notification.

    Hope that clears it up for you.