overclocking?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by dustyewebb, Apr 14, 2010.

  1. dustyewebb
    Offline

    dustyewebb New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hope this is the right place to post this question. I have read plenty of post on here regarding overclocking in concert with ud roms. I am currently running udv10 without issue. I am overclocked at 1ghz lv. At this speed my phone works flawlessly. However if i try to push it beyond this point i get constant force closures and my phone often reboots on its own. Obviously i dont think i can install a faster kernel. Just curious as to why this happens or maybe im overlooking a setting? Or do i just have a lazy cpu? Thanks guys this is by and large the greatest droid community out there and im thankful to be a part of it!
  2. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,391
    Likes Received:
    998
    Trophy Points:
    113
    are you using a lv kernel. Try playing around with a medium or high voltage kernel.
  3. dustyewebb
    Offline

    dustyewebb New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i was originally using a mv kernel. again anything up to 1ghz works fine. when ud released v10 they only had a select few kernels said to encompass all the features of the new rom. these are all low voltage.
  4. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    All CPU chips are not created equally. Sounds like 1ghz is the max that yours can handle. Still, you're running at almost twice the speed that Motorola intended!

    Until some of the other kernel devs (AdamZ and Chevy) can get their kernels to work with Cyanogen/Ultimate Droid, you may not be able to test out a high voltage kernel.
    AdamZ
    Chevy
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2010
  5. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,391
    Likes Received:
    998
    Trophy Points:
    113
    your phone may need to have a medium voltage kernel. If UD uses chevy then u can install a medium voltage kernel manually.
  6. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,391
    Likes Received:
    998
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Good point. 1ghz is more then waht you need. I get around with 800 with no problem.
  7. dustyewebb
    Offline

    dustyewebb New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah very true. its very fast. you know us and our droids though. always tryin to push it. i figured i was at the max. just wanted to make sure i wasnt missing a setting or somethin. thanks for your prompt responses! as always a great help.:)
  8. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    I hear ya man, pushing these phones to their limit is what I enjoy the most. I run at 1.25 ghz and honestly can't tell a difference versus running at 1ghz. Your benchmarks will look better, but there's no real world difference.