Old application, but can't update?

Discussion in 'Android Support' started by neelsonwheels, Nov 1, 2010.

  1. neelsonwheels

    neelsonwheels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So just today I keep getting this message that states "The version of the application is very old. Please update from the Market to keep up with the latest features." It is constantly popping up and is very annoying.

    The Market says there is nothing to update! I have started deleting old things I don't really use. I've downloaded Lookout to scan my phone, and it reports all is well. I've uninstalled Market several times. I've deleted and reinstalled Facebook. I've rebooted several times. Nothing seems to work!

    Do I keep deleting things till something works? Do I do a hard reset?

    What do folks suggest?
     
  2. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    What application?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  3. samanthat

    samanthat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i keep getting that message too. it doesnt say which app, just to go to the market and update. i updated everything that needed it and im still getting that message.
     
  4. neelsonwheels

    neelsonwheels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    @Bob I don't know the app? It doesn't say (Just like samanthat just said)
     
  5. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Clear market data/cache. If that doesn't fix things we'll escalate to level two. :)

    This came from my brain by way of my finger and my phone. Don't ask where any of them have been. Especially the brain.
     
  6. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +33
    I have had that happen to my daughter's phone. You have to reset the Market. The market has been having a lot of problems lately and I am not sure why. So to give it a swift kick in the back side seems to work. To do so go to settings > applications > manage applications > market > clear cache then clear data. It will tell you that you will be deleting some things, say okay and then once its done go back to your home screen. Then try to go into the market. You will have to agree to the terms and conditions again (no biggie) and then the market will open. If you have any updates waiting they should show now and download no prob. This also should get rid of the "xxx out of date please update" message.
     
  7. neelsonwheels

    neelsonwheels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea... I've done all the clearing cache/data several times. No dice.

    I have been hearing problems about the Market lately as well. I'll just chalk it up to that, and hopefully it'll clear up in a day or so. In the mean time, I'll try not to get too aggravated and do something dumb:wacko:
     
  8. Kvalhion

    Kvalhion New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just started getting this as well. Very annoying... did some searching but this is the only thread I've seen about it so far.

    I did the clear cache and clear data on the market and then went back to the Downloads and it says I have 26 updates available. Strange. Hopefully whatever app is triggering this message gets updated.

    If someone knows how to resolve it for sure, please share. :)
     
  9. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +33
    Welcome to the forum. I have not been having this problem and when it happened to my daughter's phone a reset of the market worked. I will ask the rest of the Rescue Squad to give this a look and see if anyone else has any suggestions.
     
  10. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    The Market is just odd like that I have set all of my apps to never auto update and sometimes they show updates and sometimes not or I have applications installed that don't show as being installed - also if I clear Market Data and Cache all of my apps will show as needing updated so that is not surprising to me...what I do find interesting is this "pop-up" message that says the version of this application is very old - I would like to know what it is you are doing exactly when you get this message and possibly a screen shot of it
     
  11. neelsonwheels

    neelsonwheels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The culprit was PhysiKey Keyboard app.

    For some reason the update wasn't appearing in the market (even after all the clearing of cache and what not). Then later this afternoon it popped up and I updated. Viola! The message was gone.

    I believe it was PhysiKey as I originally installed the free version which comes with a 7-day trial. After the trial ends it reminds you with a message saying to update (it becomes very annyoing just like todays message). I bought the paid version as the app is fantastic for me. This app is the only app I've seen that has a pop-up message.

    I'm now curious to know if this is the same issue for others.
     
    #11 neelsonwheels, Nov 1, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2010
  12. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    Glad you got it worked out

    Sent from my Original Droid using the Exclusive Droid Forums App (Available Free in the Market) :wink:
     
Search tags for this page

old application.com

,

oldapplication