1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Officially Overclocked

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by mthorn79, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. mthorn79
    Offline

    mthorn79 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx
    Snagged Drod's 1.5gz kernel off ROM Manager...ran 2495 on quadrant, 53mflops on Linpak :]

    Sent from my Tbolt from Tapatalk
  2. TheTyler0013
    Offline

    TheTyler0013 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is it undervolted?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  3. mkjellgren
    Offline

    mkjellgren New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    Where can I find this kernel other than rm. I don't trust rm and would rather flash roms and kernels manually.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  4. mthorn79
    Offline

    mthorn79 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx
    No idea ha

    Sent from my Tbolt from Tapatalk
  5. mkjellgren
    Offline

    mkjellgren New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    Well I bit the bullet and just flashed it from rm. Man does this thing fly...consistent 2500's in quadrant.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  6. mthorn79
    Offline

    mthorn79 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx
    Told ya =]

    Sent from my Tbolt from Tapatalk
  7. mkjellgren
    Offline

    mkjellgren New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    Oh I didn't doubt you...I just prefer to do things myself...probably just a few reservations since the d1 had a few consistency issues with rm...


    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  8. Demolition Man
    Offline

    Demolition Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pawnee, IN
  9. mthorn79
    Offline

    mthorn79 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx
  10. Demolition Man
    Offline

    Demolition Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pawnee, IN
  11. mthorn79
    Offline

    mthorn79 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx
    That works

    Sent from my Tbolt from Tapatalk
  12. mkjellgren
    Offline

    mkjellgren New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    Both links worked for me. I had already flashed the kernel through rm but tried your links just to check.


    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  13. Demolition Man
    Offline

    Demolition Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pawnee, IN
    Thanks for letting me know they work. Hope this helps out folks who want to get the kernel outside of ROM Manager.
  14. mkjellgren
    Offline

    mkjellgren New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    No prob. Glad there's an actual download...I'm always hesitant about rm...seems to have worked just fine though...

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  15. mkjellgren
    Offline

    mkjellgren New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    Anybody notice that this is an 11 slot kernel!?!?! And 6 of the slot are above 1ghz...only thing its missing imho is the "smartass" governor...

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  16. hawgpapa
    Offline

    hawgpapa New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    This is so sweeeeet! The smoothest Angry Birds, Youtube, Playon...Thunderbolt Rocks!
    Thanks a bunch...@mrBobrowitz
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2011
  17. bluefire7002
    Offline

    bluefire7002 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I havent used ROM manager in a while... doesnt it ask you to choose a ROM as well?
    and what do i need to backup on ROM manager before wise? considering trying that kernel out right now
  18. mkjellgren
    Offline

    mkjellgren New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    It does not ask you to choose a ROM. Simply select the kernel, it'll prompt you to backup your current ROM and wipe data and cache. Check the box next to backup current ROM, do not wipe.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  19. briguy503
    Offline

    briguy503 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland
    Don't have much practice with kernels since coming from a Droid x. Can I flash this kernel to the stock Rom? Also will it eat the battery if I don't use set CPU?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  20. mkjellgren
    Offline

    mkjellgren New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    ^ yes, you can use this with the stock rom. Battery life is still up in the air (it'll take a few days to get a true representation). You should, however, use setcpu to underclock with the screen off. That should help with battery life. You can get setcpu free over at xda or for a couple bucks in the market if you choose to donate for an awesome app (i personally recommend donating but I understand if funds are tight...)

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums