Non-working D1 power button - need advice

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by cobravnm13, Sep 17, 2011.

  1. cobravnm13

    cobravnm13 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +54
    My power button on my D1 has been non-functional for quite some time, now. I read before where someone used some old, thin rubber from some headphones to replace the foam on the power button after disassembly. Can anyone send me pictures or anything of the sort showing how to do this? I really need to fix it, and I want to do it myself, but I don't want to turn my phone into a paperweight. I would love for a "how to" guide on this issue and some reassurance that everything I take off can be put right back on if not broken. I can't afford to buy pieces for this. Any help with this is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,079
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
  3. cobravnm13

    cobravnm13 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +54
    Sad thing is that I have googled it. Several times, actually. I've only found disassembly guides and videos. And I've also tried to remap the buttons but I couldn't really get it to work. :p

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  4. JayR_

    JayR_ Theme Developer
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +4
    Button remapper on the market. Using it now, my power button is dead, the camera button is my new power button. Works great

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  5. syndicate0017

    syndicate0017 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +48
    Yep. I use the same thing. Just wish it would work from a powered off state.

    Sent from my CushZero using DroidForums
     
  6. cobravnm13

    cobravnm13 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +54
    Yeah, that's mainly why I need my power button, so I can come from a powered off state.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  7. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,346
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
  8. cobravnm13

    cobravnm13 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +54
    I've actually read that one. I messaged the guy for pics a couple months ago but he hasn't replied. I kinda was looking for a step by step thing with pics or video on what to do.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
    #8 cobravnm13, Sep 18, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2011
Search tags for this page

droid incredible remap power button