That darn power button on top!

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Huckleberry, Mar 30, 2010.

  1. Huckleberry
    Offline

    Huckleberry New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gotta glue [rubber cement so it could be removed later if I want] a small piece of plastic on top of the power button so I don't have to fumble around for it!
     
  2. Flomaster
    Offline

    Flomaster Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    East Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    are you saying you can't find your power button?

    its easy to find for me

    I just grab the "chin" of the phone then move to the top right and BAM there it is.

    the CHIN is very useful and should be used to your advantage

    -=Jason=-
     
  3. wil318466
    Offline

    wil318466 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Never thought about it because I'm used to it.. but I wonder if the power button would be better if it were slightly raised? It could possibly be worse, turning on in your pocket and stuff. Dunno..


    -Wil
     
  4. Geofferson
    Offline

    Geofferson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's placement always seemed odd to me, but I can depress it fine (even w/ case).
     
  5. ARZ
    Offline

    ARZ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont have a case but I agree with you. It is way better than the Dare I had. On that phone ANY other button on the phone would make the touch screen live and then it was only a matter of time before you were dialing someone from your pocket.

    KUDOS to Motorola for figuring out that there should only be ONE button to unlock the screen.

    Now if they could expand that functionality to the phone while you are IN a call.
     
  6. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    Screen Mode Widget will, among other things, enable you to turn the phone on with the volume or the camera buttons.
     
  7. sustained
    Offline

    sustained Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I think the OP will end up with a lot of unintentional turn-ons in his pocket if he raises the button. It's recessed for a reason.

    But to each his own.
     
  8. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you describe where that option is? I downloaded it, and I only see a widget with three options: Auto Sleep, Awake Stay, and Screen Stay.

    When I set it for "Screen-Stay", I am able to turn the screen on using the volume and camera buttons, but the screen is not locked.
     
  9. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    You can do the same thing with each of the other options, as well. By installing the widget you have enabled the volume and camera buttons to turn on the phone. Some folks like that behavior, some don't, but that's the behavior of all three "states."

    I can only conclude that the developer's first language is not English from the odd labels used, but here is the way the widget works:

    "Sleep Auto": Timeout works as usual. You get a lock screen when you turn on the phone with any of the buttons.

    "Awake Stay": Timeout works as usual, but you bypass the lock screen by turning the phone on with any of the buttons.

    "Screen Stay": The phone ignores the "timeout" setting and stays on. Note that if you have Screebl, it trumps "Screen Stay" and turns off if you put the phone down on a flat surface. In that case, Screen Stay and Awake Stay are identical.

    In case it's not obvious, of course, only the power button can be used to manually turn off the phone in any of these settings. If the screen is on the volume and camera buttons return to their normal functions.
     
  10. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess it doesn't work, then?

    Steps to Reproduce:
    1). Put in "Auto-Sleep" mode.
    2). Press Power to turn off screen
    3). Press Camera button or Vol Up/Down

    Expected Results:
    Screen turns on

    Actual Results:
    Screen only turns on when power button is pressed

    I also tested it by allowing the screen to timeout on it's own (replacing step 2 with "Wait for screen to turn off"). Same results. I was able to get it to work a couple times, but not reliably.
     
  11. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    My apologies. You're right. (I always use "Awake Stay" since the main reason I got the widget was to skip the lock screen.) The behavior I described only works in the "Awake Stay" and "Screen Stay" modes.
     
Search tags for this page

how do you turn on a droid 2 without the top button