1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

No Recovery mode

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by dmar1224, May 31, 2012.

  1. dmar1224
    Offline

    dmar1224 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am looking for help with recovery mode. I am rooted running cleanROM ICSE 2.3 and sense version 3.5. I downloaded CleanROM 4.5 and am trying flash but my phone will not let me arrow to recovery. The up and down volume does not move the menu and then it switches screens. This rom is starting go give me issues so either i need to find a way to load the new or return to stock. Would be thankful for some help!
  2. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Do you have a file called PH98IMG.zip on your SD card? If not, reflash your recovery.
  3. dmar1224
    Offline

    dmar1224 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. I downloaded it from Scott's site when I downloaded the rom.
  4. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    PH98IMG.zip on your SD card will prevent you from entering recovery. Remove it from your SD and you should be able to get into recovery just fine.
  5. dmar1224
    Offline

    dmar1224 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Outstanding! Thanks so much. Now to backup and try to load the rom.
  6. dmar1224
    Offline

    dmar1224 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok MrSmith, the rom loaded well. Thank you.
    I copied my SD card to my laptop and would like to send it back but the SD card is not recognized. I have selected 'mount SD' and nothing happens. I use HTC sync and the card is not found. Any ideas?
    appreciate as always!
  7. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    If you didn't flash the ICS leak, then you need the "old firmware" patch. Otherwise you won't be able to see your SD or use wifi
  8. dmar1224
    Offline

    dmar1224 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I only flashed the CR 4.5 and do not know anything about 'an old patch'. You are right, no SD and no WiFi. Do you have a link to the patch and can it be downloaded without the sd recognized?
    I also have PH98IMG.zip loaded in the same place i have the CR 4.5 but can't open it to flash boot.img. I am S-On and wonder if going S-off would help.
  9. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
  10. dmar1224
    Offline

    dmar1224 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks....and you're right, this is a learning environment!
    I am struggling this morning with bootloop for some reason so not sue if i can keep running long enough to load the patch.
    thanks again.
  11. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Bootloops won't effect your ability to use HBOOT or Recovery. They're usually caused by network problems. Try booting without your SIM and/or with the back cover off.
  12. dmar1224
    Offline

    dmar1224 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, back off and sim out and found the file fix. Problem is it won't download without an SD and mind isn't recognized.
  13. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Here's what you do. Download it on a PC. Reboot into Recovery(AmonRA), mount USB in AmonRa, transfer your file...and Bob's your uncle.
  14. dmar1224
    Offline

    dmar1224 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok.....now getting ready to throw this thing!!
    Pulled battery, rebooted and now it flys past recovery menu again. Can't access the SD like before the rom flash so can't find the PM.... file and remove it again.
    Also didn't see AmonRA in my earlier recovery so must not have this file.
    sorry to be a pain but this rooting and romming isn't for beginners....even with your tutorial.
  15. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    No worries. You still have the PH98IMG.zip on your SD, that's why it's flying by. Do you have a spare SD that you can pop in for the time being? If so, put in the spare then follow the other steps. After you flash the patch, then swap the SD's back.
  16. dmar1224
    Offline

    dmar1224 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pulled the SD completely and booted and still flew by.
    So wish there was a way to usb to the computer and reset.
  17. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    But there is. You just need to hook up to the PC and "adb reboot recovery". If you know ADB , it's a life saver. If you need ADB, grab it here: http://mypcdominion.com/Files/android/ROM_Tools/android-minisdk.zip
  18. dmar1224
    Offline

    dmar1224 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Haven't used adb and will download and give it a try. Again, can't tell you how much I appreciate your help! Will let you know how it goes.
  19. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Don't worry, you'll be paying this knowledge forward someday or telling your grandkids "I remember when we used to have to type on out computers to ROM our phones"
  20. dmar1224
    Offline

    dmar1224 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I run adb.exe i get a dos window and fast scrolling screen and the the window disappears. How do I move this file to my phone? Sorry for the trouble!
Search tags for this page

android no recovery mode

,
android rom from sd no recovery mode
,

flash rom without recovery mode

,
htc incredible s recovery mode install
,

htc recovery mode

,

htc rezound recovery mode

,

htc sense recovery mode

,

htc thunderbolt recovery mode

,

no recovery mode android

,
no recovery mode android 2.3
,
no recovery mode on android
,
no recovery mode on rom
,
no recovery mode rezound
,
recovery mode htc incredible
,
rezound without recovery