1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

New Maxx's are in!

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by Colorado, Jun 18, 2012.

  1. Colorado
    Offline

    Colorado New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine and my wife's new maxx's were just delivered. I didn't even open the boxes yet. I am a little afraid because I have my droid x exactly the way I want it and I don't want to screw things up. What is the best process to get everything over to my new maxx. I emailed mybackup pro and they said I can restore my dx, then put my sd card into the new phone and install mb pro and restore. Will this put all my settings, pics, etc. over to the new maxx? I am not rooted so I know that I may have to reload all the apps, which I dread because I don't want the new versions of some of the apps I have. What's the best route to take to get me into my new phone without a migrane?
    Thanks
  2. electricman58
    Offline

    electricman58 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    I've heard that swapping SD cards don't work often between phones because of encription issues, but I know for sure (I do this all the time), that using your computer, you can transfer all of your files and even the app APKs so you can still have your previous versions. I've hooked up both phones to the computer and I've just used the card with/adaptor in the SD slot on computer. Its actually pretty simple! I'm just really not sure your gonna be able to just swap out SD cards?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
  3. jaqsyd
    Offline

    jaqsyd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just got my Maxx the other day and switched sd cards. All my stuff there. Just had to log in passwords again. Hope this helps.
  4. Colorado
    Offline

    Colorado New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can I just copy all files from my sd card to computer then hookup my maxx and copy them over from pc to maxx?
  5. electricman58
    Offline

    electricman58 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Hmmmmm? Yea I think you should be able to! I haven't done it that way, but why not? I've only done it transfer to transfer by doing the "drag & drop" method! That I know works! Maybe someone else here will comment on other methods than can be used for a mass copy! Copying all files at once to transfer sounds better but some files like app APKs go into different files so that's why I learned how to do it manually. I'm a little tech savvy, but not an expert! Lol ;-)

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
  6. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,166
    Likes Received:
    543
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Hold up.... do you have your SD card encrypted on your x?? If not it will transfer to the maxx with no problems what so ever. :D

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  7. Colorado
    Offline

    Colorado New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do your apps and app data transfer over that way?
  8. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,166
    Likes Received:
    543
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Also if you wish to.do a PC data transfer of you sdcard data then the best way is this....

    Off load all of the data to your PC,

    Install the sdcard into the maxx,

    Go to, settings, privacy, format sdcard, that will format it to the maxx, and erase it. Unmount the sdcard and remove it.

    Put it back in the PC and transfer the data to the SD card.

    Reinstall the sdcard and your good.

    JUST REMEMBER TO.FOR.AT THE SDCARD.INSIDE THE MAXX!!! Or else you're gonna have a bad time :)

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  9. electricman58
    Offline

    electricman58 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    I would " first " try to move all files to ext SD, put it in your maxx and see what you got? Download something like astro and maybe app2sd and try to load then back on the phone! And a must have on your phone, fyi, even if this doesn't work is "appbackup & restore" this lets you revert back to previous versions of the apps if you don't like the new one!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
  10. electricman58
    Offline

    electricman58 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Thanks 94lt1. I new someone else would come along with more info! Lol ;-)

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
  11. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,590
    Likes Received:
    816
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Per the instructions, CHARGE TO 100% with POWER OFF FIRST!!! This should take 5.5 hours for the MAXXs. DO NOT activate or power up until you do that!
  12. Colorado
    Offline

    Colorado New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for all your replies. One other question. I have 7 email accounts between yahoo, local isp, etc. Will my email settings transfer over or will they have to be re-entered manually.
  13. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,590
    Likes Received:
    816
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    The stock email clients will possibly have some problems with what you describe, but you may find K9 Mail to be a great solution. Also DroidMail is a suitable replacement as well.
  14. droidbio
    Offline

    droidbio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am trying to buy a Maxx myself but Verizon and Best Buy raised their prices to $299.

    Any suggestions about where to purchase?

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using Tapatalk 2
  15. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,590
    Likes Received:
    816
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
  16. droidbio
    Offline

    droidbio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh thanks.. But I am transferring the upgrade from another line on my account... I am waiting to hear back from Amazon about transferring it. I sent a message to their customer service.

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using Tapatalk 2
  17. droidbio
    Offline

    droidbio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just received an email.. No Maxx from Amazon.. You have to keep the phone on the line you ordered for 181 days or pay an additional $250.
    Bummer...

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using Tapatalk 2
  18. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Try Costco. They often have good prices and they don't require you to keep it on the line you ordered it for.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  19. droidbio
    Offline

    droidbio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok.. Strike 2..costco can't home order it due to the fact they are launching the Maxx in their warehouses.... ETA.. unknown
    Probably after the 28th..Will that make Maxx and Nexus only two with ICS on Verizon?

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using Tapatalk 2
  20. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    The Rezound is also supposed to get ICS.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums