New market

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by bharrismac, Aug 9, 2011.

  1. bharrismac
    Offline

    bharrismac Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    For some reason, my phone hasn't updated the market to the latest version (the 3.something one). I only noticed because I was asked to download an app on my dad's droid 3. He had the new version and I didn't. Any ideas as to why I don't have the new one or how I could update it?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  2. kilowatt
    Offline

    kilowatt New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine has not been updated yet either.
  3. The_Rick_14
    Offline

    The_Rick_14 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got it today. Something to try is to go into Manage Apps, find the market, and clear the cache, force close it, and clear the data. Then reopen the market.

    If that doesn't work then it just hasn't been pushed for your device yet. It will soon enough.
  4. kilowatt
    Offline

    kilowatt New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, actually I just checked and it got updated in the last few minutes while I was posting. I didn't do anything to prompt it.
  5. Sparkimus
    Offline

    Sparkimus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Calhoun, GA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Haha, same just happened to me. I was reading this thread and decided to go try the clear data/force close method to get it, but it already updated in the past few hours I've been off the phone. Strange.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  6. bharrismac
    Offline

    bharrismac Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was in the middle of downloading an app when the download quit. I reopened the market and it had updated. I had to redownload said app,but the problem is now solved.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  7. NoBloatware
    Offline

    NoBloatware Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    One feature that seems to be missing in the new market > settings > there is no option to notify if updates available
  8. Bdog
    Offline

    Bdog Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    P-Cola FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    First time I used my market on this phone was the old one. Closed it as a single app was downloading and the download disappeared. Opened market back up and it was the new atrocity. Uninstalled updates and got my old market back, until the next time I opened it. Now I have to repeat the process every time I need to get on.
  9. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,115
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +194
    I miss the long press menu. That's gone all together.

    end of line...