Need help with rooting HTC Rezound

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by LyricWulf, Aug 5, 2013.

  1. acejavelin
    Offline

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Ratings:
    +10
    It shouldn't matter, but if you are already rooted you can always install the latest TWRP with Goo Manager from the Google Play Store.

    Also, your fastboot directory is in the same place as adb... Usually the platform-tools directory of adb unless you are using mini-adb.

    Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
     
  2. pastorfish
    Offline

    pastorfish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    OK. I'll try that. Right now my phone suddenly is telling me its upgrading and optimizing apps. Not sure why. But I'll try Goo Manager next.
     
  3. acejavelin
    Offline

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Ratings:
    +10
    It will do that anytime cache/dalvik are wiped... Its rebuilding the caches.

    Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
     
  4. pastorfish
    Offline

    pastorfish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    OK, this is just really getting confusing. I downloaded Goo Manager, but to be honest, I'm not exactly sure what to do with it. So I went over to ROM Manager (which I already had on my phone) and it says that my current recovery is, in fact, TWRP. But when I tell it to reboot into it, it still reboots into cmd recovery.
     
  5. acejavelin
    Offline

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Ratings:
    +10
    Open GooManger and press menu key and select "Install OpenRecoveryScript", it will pop up a confirmation window, select Yes. Next it should ask to confirm "openrecovery-twrp-2.6.3.0-vigor.img" and tap Yes. It will then download the file then give it time... It might take a few minutes of nothing appearing to happen but you should get a pop up saying it was installed. Once that is done, reboot recovery from GooManger (you will probably get some "unfortunately xxx has stopped messages, that's normal) and it should reboot into TWRP.

    Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
     
  6. pastorfish
    Offline

    pastorfish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Awesome! That worked. Thank you so much for you patience.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. acejavelin
    Offline

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Ratings:
    +10
    No problem... Glad you got it working!

    Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
     
  8. pastorfish
    Offline

    pastorfish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm back :(

    OK, so I've got twrp on here, and I've been trying to flash CM through goomanager. Once again, I'm S-on. I've been using the versions from flyhalf as well as trying the gapps files recommended elsewhere. But my phone keeps hanging up on the white htc screen. I then have to remove the battery and boot into recovery and restore my backup.

    You mentioned fastboot, and told me it was in the adb folder, but I can't find any such animal. Is that folder supposed to be on my phone or on my computer? Am I supposed to be connected to my computer for this process or should I just be able to do it all on the phone? Is there something I'm doing wrong with goomanager? Sorry for all the questions. Answer as many or as few as you like, and thanks for your help.

    OH... Is there another thread I should be asking this on or where this has already been discussed?
     
  9. acejavelin
    Offline

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Ratings:
    +10
    If you are S-On you need to flash the boot image separately using fastboot. Fastboot is part of the Android SDK that is available from Google and you have to install that separately on your PC

    Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
     
  10. pastorfish
    Offline

    pastorfish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    That's what I thought. So is this where I basically follow Scottys noob friendly root guide?
     
  11. acejavelin
    Offline

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Ratings:
    +10
    Yup

    Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
     
  12. pastorfish
    Offline

    pastorfish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks again.
     
Search tags for this page

how to root htc rezound

,

htc rezound root

,
htc rezound root 2013
,
rezound root
,

root htc rezound

,
root htc rezound 2013
,
root my htc rezound
,
root rezound
,
rooting htc rezound
,
rooting rezound