1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Need help with droid restore + rom!

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by zebrainez, Jun 21, 2010.

  1. zebrainez
    Offline

    zebrainez New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey, I need help with my droid, it used to have a bugless beast rom for unofficial 2.1, I forgot the version but it was one from like january, and I haven't used my droid since then but I did a wipe data/factory reset and now it reboots after motorola logo, when it's plugged on the wall.

    When it's connected to the computer it doesn't turn on or do anything. It's been plugged in on the wall for about 2 hours now and it's still working or doing anything, I don't know what to do now because all I see are rom threads but no instructions on anything, especially instructions for updating from the rom I'm at now!

    This is why I left the droid in the first place, it's so damn confusing...

    Just please, help me here, I don't know what to do, something seems really wrong and nothings working, I have sprecovery but I don't know what to do or how to install the new bugless beast rom without all these new thingamabobs and doohickeys it needs, things I can't seem to install now that my phone seems to not have an OS + won't charge ****ing normally!

    I'm just pissed right now sorry, it's just a stack of bs.
  2. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So what's your question? You want to know why your Droid isn't turning on when plugged into the computer? Your post is quite confusing = \
  3. zebrainez
    Offline

    zebrainez New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, and if there is a solution I want it. I'm confused right now... So I'm just throwing a bunch of symptoms hoping for someone to tell me what's wrong, and a solution if there is one, hopefully...
  4. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Try a restore and let me know if your are successful. If you have additional questions or support repost.

    Mike
  5. zebrainez
    Offline

    zebrainez New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have any backups :( isn't your phone supposed to reset everything on it's own when I do wipe data/factory reset...? I can boot into sprecovery when it's on the wall, but I can't take it off the wall or it turns off.
  6. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
  7. zebrainez
    Offline

    zebrainez New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My battery was working fine before... it only happened after I did the wipe...

    I can't do anything with verizon and stuff because my mom did something with my verizon bag which had my receipts and stuff in it after I told her not to, so I'm only stuck with just the Droid, I'm using a friends charger.

    The battery actually was able to stay in sprecovery for a few seconds about an hour after I took it off the wall, then turned off.

    Verizon hates me anyways, they won't service me at all. I just want a phone that just works out of the box without having to go through all this crap.
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2010
  8. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    If you could keep power you could download a rom and flash. I'm not sure how to advise. I'm trying to get another member of the squad to look at your post.

    Mike
  9. zebrainez
    Offline

    zebrainez New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Flash it with what? All these modern roms have all these weird guidelines and I don't know how to safely work it with my Droid... :(

    I downloaded bugless beast 0.2.1 the froyo version and I want to use this rom, does anyone know how to install this in my condition?
  10. christim
    Offline

    christim Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    If it boots into SPRecovery then you can flash a rom. You may want to go back to stock first or can try any rom you'd like.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-news/49954-more-froyo.html is the lastest vanilla froyo rom with a rom for both sprecovery and rom manager. For sprecovery just drop the contents of the zip into your nandroid folder and restore.

    If your phone wont stay charged then it either has a battery issue or thinks it does. You can use RSD Lite to also go back to a stock rom. Within the 3rd link of my sig, in the first post, are instructions on how to use SPRecovery to get back to stock as well as to use RSD Lite to get back to stock.

    If your friend has a droid you might want to try his battery too, just to see what happens. The white LED should be on, on your phone where the charger cable plugs into the phone.
  11. zebrainez
    Offline

    zebrainez New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    He don't got a droid, and what is rsd lite? I can't do any of those things without actually having an OS to boot from + a phone that could boot in the first place :(
  12. christim
    Offline

    christim Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    3rd link in my signature, read through that thread. You don't need to boot up the phone to use RSD Lite.
  13. zebrainez
    Offline

    zebrainez New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Actually I do, I'm pretty sure I can't do anything with it without having it connected to the computer, and if the phone isn't booting up how would that even be possible?

    When connected to the computer, the white led turns on but the phone just stays off and doesn't turn on, but when on the wall it goes in a boot loop but I still have access to sprecovery, I just can't do it while it's connected to the computer, which means whatever solution you have isn't going to work as it has nothing to do with this problem.
  14. zebrainez
    Offline

    zebrainez New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Someone please help...it was charging for 6 hours and I took it off the charger, was still in a boot loop, I pulled the charger off and it shut down immediately, it was also very hot too, I tried doing a battery pull but no luck it just isn't charging so I could take it off the wall plug and at least try to flash a rom, jesus ****ing christ!
  15. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Did you read the link that I included in the 6th post of this thread and that Christim brought to you attention in the 12th post?

    box option 04: Install a plain vanilla rooted version of your stock 2.1 phone.
    box option 05: You are rooted and/or have installed SPRecovery and want to return to stock using RSD Lite
    box option 06: Alternative method to get back to root. RSD Lite not needed. Neither 05 or 06 method is better than the other.


    If your future post include swearing, I will not respond!

    Mike
  16. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I think your first problem to solve is the battery issue. It sounds as though your phone is not charging the battery and it's totally dead. Can you borrow a charged battery? If not you will have to get the charger that will charge the battery while it is removed from the phone. Once you have a fully charged battery report back here what the phone does.


    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  17. zebrainez
    Offline

    zebrainez New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't really have the money to buy all these fancy accessories to fix a defect myself which Verizon should do for free, I already payed a lot for the droid and my mom intentionally lost all my stuff for it so I couldn't get the rebate therefore I paid the full price, but luckily I found the box and the receipt, do you think after 6-7 months they would replace my droid or it's battery?

    I really think that's the only solution because if they can then I could plug in my droid and have it boot to sprecovery from the computer rather than the wall outlet (if I take it off the wall outlet after booting it into recovery it shuts off so I think it's a dead battery), which then I could put in a rom and just flash it I guess and then have it boot normally without going into retarded loops.
  18. pinesal
    Offline

    pinesal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You don't need to plug the phone into the computer to do anything, you can take the memory card out and put it in a card reader then plug the card reader into the computer and load all the files you need onto it, then put it back into the phone and power on from the wall.

    If you don't have a card reader that will read micro SD you will need to get one or get and adapter to fit regular SD slots.

    Sorry, you might have to spend at least a little money to fix this,