Need Help Un-Rooting And Back To Factory!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Pro' started by dudeitsmattx, Mar 27, 2011.

  1. dudeitsmattx

    dudeitsmattx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    For some reason when I unroot my phone and try to put it back to factoy settings it keeps Droid Bootstrapper and everytime I reset my phone it take me to the Bootstrapper Recover settings and I have to click reset phone now. Why it is doing this? I just want to empty everything off my phone and get it back how it was when I got it and start over. I also have z4root installed. Someone help me!!
     
  2. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    you'll have to remove a few files. 'll bring you some instructions in a minute but you have to follow them to a t or you could really be screwed. is there an sbf for the droid pro?
     
  3. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    "Removing Bootstrap Recovery:

    Removal from an Androidforums post:

    UNINSTALL the Recovery APK (Droid X Bootstrapper) in Settings, Applications
    Reboot
    Run "adb shell"
    Run "su"
    Run "mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system"
    Run "cp /system/bin/logwrapper.bin /system/bin/logwrapper"
    Reboot

    or

    1. Reroot
    2. Get root explorer in the market
    3. Uninstall the bootstrap app
    4. Go into root explorer to system/bin
    5. In top right corner tap r/w
    6. Delete the file called hijack
    7. Delete logwrapper
    8. Rename logwrapper.bin to just logwrapper
    9. Reboot and it should be gone.

    If this screws up you'll need RSD Lite"

    those are the instructions for removing bootstrapper fully but like i said if you screw up a step or something you could be in deep @#$% without an sbf and i don't know if one ever got released for the pro.
     
  4. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Yes there is one available in the sticky from TBH.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  5. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    alright cool then at least you have an exit strategy. thanks guidot.
     
  6. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Wife got one in December. Was waiting patiently and downloaded the sbf the same day.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  7. gsu_golfer

    gsu_golfer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    If all I've done is root it and change the boot animation and a few small things, then I'm good if I unrooted with z4 and put the boot animation back in system/media, right?
     
  8. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    for the most part yes. there may still be remnants of the bootsrapper but you'll probably be ok.
     
  9. gsu_golfer

    gsu_golfer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you're talking to me, I never installed the bootstrapper or any of the more advanced stuff.
     
  10. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh lol so you did it from root explorer or w/e then yeah you should be in the clear.
     
  11. gsu_golfer

    gsu_golfer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep. The noob way if you will :icon_ banana:
     
  12. dudeitsmattx

    dudeitsmattx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok thanks everyone im going to try this when I get in front of my computer tomorrow. See if I can get it done right. Idk why I even installed bootstrapper in the first place I never even used it.
     
  13. dudeitsmattx

    dudeitsmattx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    When it boots in recovery mode it says clock work mod recovery is that what bootstrapper is? Also I don't understand the "settings, application, reboot" part I don't have that. Also where do I enter all the other "run" commands?
     
  14. dudeitsmattx

    dudeitsmattx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey spaz a little help please with my above post lol.. im lost
     
  15. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    You uninstall the bootstrap app like you would a normal app.

    Then the other instructions are adb commands.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page
droid 2 back to factory
,

how to get ur rooted phone back to factory settings

,
how to restore a rooted phone back to factory settings
,
my phone is rooted need to set back to factory
,
reset my rooted phone back to factory
,
rooted phone back to factory settings