1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Restore D2G to update?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global Development' started by Last Reality, Jun 16, 2011.

  1. Last Reality
    Offline

    Last Reality New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have Liberty installed in my Droid 2 Global.

    If I backed up my phone (using d2 bootstrapper, think it's called a nandroid backup) when it was just rooted, could I restore the phone to when it was just rooted? I could then delete all of the apps which needed root, unroot the phone (using z4root), and would the droid be back to where it was so I could get the gingerbread update?

    I have already wiped/factory reseted and wiped the cache of the droid but Liberty was still on the phone. I am now reinstalling d2 bootstrapper in order to do the above.

    Will it work?

    If not, what is the correct way to get Liberty off your phone without sbf'ing (I want to save that as a last resort)?

    Thanks.
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2011
  2. Byakushiki
    Offline

    Byakushiki New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Usea
    Even after restoring a stock nandroid backup, you have to remove the bootstrap files. Otherwise, when you try to update, the hijack files/clockwork block the update installation.
    As for completely unrooting, don't. Might aswell keep it to see if root carries over, unless it somehow manages to block the update.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  3. xxxtncxxx
    Offline

    xxxtncxxx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can just use rsdlite and sbf. You can search the forums for the latest sbf and rsdlite prog. Im out right now don't have the links for them, if u need them I will upload for you just shoot me a msg.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  4. clouse2013
    Offline

    clouse2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
  5. xxxtncxxx
    Offline

    xxxtncxxx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thats all you need. Easiest way. Turn phone off hold vol up + down + power. Then u just got to plug in to pc and use rsd, I think its by far the easiest way others will argue its not. Good luck

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2011
  6. xxxtncxxx
    Offline

    xxxtncxxx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And from what I understand the update isn't available yet noone has it, it supposed to be out some time within the next 3 weeks so I wouldn't go crazy about rolling back your phone just yet.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums