Much simpler guide for rooting (no pc required)

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by Eousphoros, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. mjones1052

    mjones1052 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +0
    /signed for one click app pl0x
     
  2. rtfield

    rtfield New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    one click please or anyone have the links to download the needed files.

    thanks
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2010
  3. darkonion

    darkonion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just google Droid2Root.rar.

    As for one click method, the process isn't that hard unless you aren't very good at following simple directions.
     
  4. rtfield

    rtfield New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got it and am now rooted.
    Thanks
     
  5. FSRBIKER

    FSRBIKER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK had FlyX/Tranquility1.5 on my DX working fine, tried flashing the new Tranquility over the top and got stuck at the M. Battery pull and start enables it to load but I have lost Root. Placed Rage file and SU files on the root of my SD card and was able to get root shell. What happens next is after I type the third line of the second part about the SU file(cp /sdcard/su /system/bin/su). Once I hit enter I see this " cp: /system/bin/su: Too many symboli C links encountered" anyone have an idea what is happening?

    Hope I can get this working otherwise its a SBF tonight. Thanks in advance.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2010
  6. seank80

    seank80 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    So easy to do. Thanks for sharing this method.
     
  7. FSRBIKER

    FSRBIKER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    As an update I do have a file in System/bin/SU but it seems to be empty, is there a way using Terminal I can delete this file since I can't use RootExplorer. This might be my issue if its trying to move the file there and it sees it already.
     
  8. seank80

    seank80 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you want to remove the su file. You could always just do this to get it out.

    - rm /system/bin/su
     
  9. FSRBIKER

    FSRBIKER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sean thanks I don't know why I didn't think of that. I tucked that line in after this "- mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system" and then finished the rest, rebooted and gained root back.
     
  10. trook

    trook Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome, completely awesome

    Thank you Eousphoros!dancedroid:icon_ banana:dancedroid
     
  11. FSRBIKER

    FSRBIKER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1 [/b][/b]
     
  12. firedawg24

    firedawg24 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try adding an X in front of bin in the command lines. Since my busybox and SU were in that xbin not bin prior to putting on new Tranquility. This is the exact problem I had and just figured it out, worked like a charm
     
Search tags for this page
how to root droid 1 without computer
,
how to root without a computer
,
how to root without computer
,
root droid 2 without computer
,
root droid without pc
,
root fascinate without pc
,
root phone without computer
,
root samsung fascinate without computer
,

root without computer

,
root without pc