Much simpler guide for rooting (no pc required)

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by Eousphoros, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    The leading - is not needed.
     
  2. USMC.Rabbit

    USMC.Rabbit New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks a ton!
     
  3. mza929

    mza929 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    wow

    I did it! After a few tries... no lets see if a custom kernel will come out.

    Any roms for the d2 yet?
     
  4. HollidayK

    HollidayK New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there any application I can use to open the Droid2Root.rar file on my phone? AndroZip isn't doing it for me.
     
  5. Dustin.

    Dustin. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    Worked great! Thanks!
     
  6. Eousphoros

    Eousphoros New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Woohoo! It got stickied!
     
  7. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,361
    Likes Received:
    1,616
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,655
    Thanks, your method helped me get two phones rooted with out having to drag my heavy laptop to work. My laptop has adb set up on it. It deserved to be stuck, it is a good method that is simple and to the point. Keep up the good work.
     
  8. msburr87

    msburr87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My phone refuses to recognize the rage file but then again I'm coming from the droid x... The file is on the root, it just does not recognize it. This method is my only hope due to me only having access to a mac right now.

    Itype:
    cp sdcard/rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin /tmp/

    Then I get it doesnt exist Wtf
     
  9. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I think you're missing the / before sdcard.
     
  10. FSRBIKER

    FSRBIKER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any spaces, capital letters etc are important
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2010
  11. msburr87

    msburr87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys this helped a lot, got root back. Ive done this several times so it sould have taken five minutes yet took me all day, that's why you don't do this while you working giving flu shots to *****ing people always interrupting you. Any way success none the less. Thanks
     
  12. FSRBIKER

    FSRBIKER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem, show others this thread when they might need it. That's so true about people bothering you at the wrong time.
     
  13. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    You should have told them to wait, rooting your Droid is much more important. :)
     
  14. snowboarding1236

    snowboarding1236 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would this work if i am running on 2.2.20.A955 ??
     
  15. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yes, it works.
     
Search tags for this page
how to root droid 1 without computer
,
how to root without a computer
,
how to root without computer
,
root droid 2 without computer
,
root droid without pc
,
root fascinate without pc
,
root phone without computer
,
root samsung fascinate without computer
,

root without computer

,
root without pc