Motorola Droid Phone As A Modem?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by CHRISOF03, Feb 21, 2010.

  1. CHRISOF03

    CHRISOF03 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys,

    Doing a lot of research on the Droid today for some final conclusive decision making and one of the things I came across is the ability to use a phone as a modem. While I saw info pertaining to this several places, it was all very vague.

    So just straight to the point, can the Motorola Droid be used as a modem for wireless internet connection on a computer? And if so, is the speed the same (3G)?
     
  2. joshua117

    joshua117 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes and yes. i use wifi teather (rooted) but there is also pdanet in the market, i think its a free app too.
     
  3. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Speed is better IMHO on the Wifi tether than with using PDANet.
     
  4. Jim 777

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,270
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
    Why? it's still just using 3G signal, right? I mean if there was an actual wifi available, the the laptop could just connect to that.
     
  5. CHRISOF03

    CHRISOF03 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yay! Thanks for the confirmation guys!
     
  6. joshua117

    joshua117 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    well the wifi tether is still using 3g (just wireless) however if i remember right download speeds were always a little slower on pdanet than other programs. this may have changed, haven't used pdanet since my moto q days.
     
  7. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    I was referring to Wifi Tether from the Drois as opposed to USB Tether.
     
  8. Jim 777

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,270
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well I guess if the transfer rate is quicker through wifi than a USB cord, that would make sense,
     
  9. astevens54

    astevens54 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +2
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    I recently installed PDAnet and it works great. I expected slow load times, but was surprised at how good it was. I plan on buying the full version. It works great with my netbook.
     
  10. sbclose678

    sbclose678 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK...I'm slightly tech savvy but I can't get the PDAnet to work with my very old computer! At this point in time, I cannot access the internet on my laptop and was hoping to be able to download the whole thing from my phone. My computer isn't so old that it isn't capable of this. However, my net card is fried. I had wireless for a time but now the computer won't talk to the router. lol Help? Anyone?
     
  11. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    You can download the computer exe from the website with your droid and just use a usb cable to transfer it to your computer.
     
  12. sbclose678

    sbclose678 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Me again

    I downloaded it on my Droid X but don't know how to get it to load on my computer. Someone told me to shut down my computer, connect the phone to the computer using my USB cable and then turn the computer on. Yes? No?
     
  13. BlackHoleSlam

    BlackHoleSlam Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    toms river NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    i heard that using wifi tether too much will alert verizon and they will realize you aren't paying their subscription and explode the world
     
  14. portermac

    portermac Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't know,pdanet will not work on my older mac. It requires 10.5 and up.Probably the same for windows.
    Also,pdanet works really good but not as well as wireless tether.
     
Search tags for this page
can i use my motorola driod as a modem for my laptop
,
how to use motorola atrix as a modem
,
how to use my motorola master like modem
,
how to use my motorola phone as a modem
,
how+to+use+your+motorola+droid+as+a modem
,

use atrix as modem

,
use my motorola droid as a modem
,
using atrix as modem