Motorola Announces Photon 4G on Sprint, Triumph on Virgin Mobile

Discussion in 'Android News' started by Preach2k, Jun 9, 2011.

  1. Preach2k
    Offline

    Preach2k DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,894
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hometown Brooklyn, NY Now Fuquay Varina, NC
    Ratings:
    +287
    Motorola Announces Photon 4G on Sprint, Triumph on Virgin Mobile


    [​IMG]

    This afternoon in New York City, Sprint and Motorola's press event has revealed the Photon 4G, along with the Motorola Triumph on Virgin Mobile pre-paid.

    Available Photon 4G specs:

    • qHD display
    • dual-core Tegra 2
    • A gigabyte of RAM

    • The Photon 4G's screen measures in at 4.3 inches
    • Motorola's laptop dock.
    • Gingerbread-running Photon 4G will include a GSM modem for international support.

    Motorola's Triumph has:

    • 4.1-inch 800x480 WVGA screen
    • Contender for thinnest smartphone, is respectably slender at a hair over a centimeter thick.
    • 512MB of RAM and runs a MSM8655 Snapdragon, presumably at 1GHz.
    • Rear five-megapixel camera for 720p video recording
    • HDMI-out
    • Android2.2
    This is the first Motorola Phone on Virgin Mobile,

    Both the Photon 4G and Triumph will become available this summer.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    For More Specs:Sprint Newsroom | Motorola Photon 4G fact sheet
    Source: PocketNow Via:Motorola
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2011
  2. cdguylhs
    Offline

    cdguylhs Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wonder if this means that the Verizon announcement will be soon?
  3. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,682
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Ratings:
    +259
    If the Bionic has a GSM radio like this does, I'll be all over it.
  4. Dusty
    Offline

    Dusty Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    DC/NoVA
    Ratings:
    +222
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto X, OnePlus One
    Ok dumb question time.

    I keep a jailbroken 3GS on hand for when I travel. When I go to Europe I usually stop in a Tim or Vodaphone shop and I pickup a simcard for around €60. I pop it in and after booting I'm off and running with a phone that I tether and link to skype, etc. I get 5GB of data and unlimited text and voice time for 30 days.

    I travel overseas for fun several times a year so it's not like work picks up the tab. With a phone like this do you insert a simcard overseas or are you just essentially roaming and paying through the nose when you get back?
  5. Preach2k
    Offline

    Preach2k DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,894
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hometown Brooklyn, NY Now Fuquay Varina, NC
    Ratings:
    +287
    Can you Believe it? Virgin Mobile is getting an Stock Android Device with no bloatware.
  6. FrellingFrakker
    Offline

    FrellingFrakker Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Arm the photon torpedoes! But Cap'n, they're so ugly.
  7. jayman350
    Offline

    jayman350 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lowell, Ma
    Ratings:
    +18
    vanilla android from Moto?!?! Depending on the rest of the specs, I would be interested in the Triumph.

    My gf has been giving me a hard time about my cell bill being $85+ when she is on a $25/month deal w/ Virgin Mobile on her LG Optimus V. I kept telling her that once Virgin gets better smarphones I would consider it.
  8. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Verizons lineup this year is total crap!
  9. jayman350
    Offline

    jayman350 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lowell, Ma
    Ratings:
    +18
    there will be bloatware on it. Virgin loaded up at least 5 different useless apps on my gf's Optimus V, she won't let me root it to remove them.
  10. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,682
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Ratings:
    +259
    If you get the SIM slot unlocked (which Verizon will do for free if you're a customer in good standing...I don't know about Sprint), you can insert a SIM card overseas. You could go with international roaming, but like you said, you'll pay through the nose.

    I have a Droid Pro that's SIM unlocked. Works great here on Verizon and works great overseas with local SIM cards. I travel extensively and I have no plans to switch from Verizon here at home, so I need a phone that's global capable.
  11. Dwyndal
    Offline

    Dwyndal Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Virgin is sporting a OG Droid haha awesome, photon isn't bad looking either.
  12. EgooEspada
    Offline

    EgooEspada Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Everything I want in a Motorola smartphone for Verizon. Even apparently has an unlocked boot loader.
  13. Preach2k
    Offline

    Preach2k DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,894
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hometown Brooklyn, NY Now Fuquay Varina, NC
    Ratings:
    +287
  14. Captmilk
    Offline

    Captmilk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    Ratings:
    +4
    Too bad both phones are on lame networks
  15. Crankintopwater69
    Offline

    Crankintopwater69 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,877
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Greensboro,NC
    Ratings:
    +85
    If this phone is 199,im gonna SCREAM!!!!!!
Search tags for this page

does motorola triumph have sims card

,

photon q 4g net on virgin mobile

,

virgin mobile 4g tower messing with service