Motorola Announces Photon 4G on Sprint, Triumph on Virgin Mobile

Discussion in 'Android News' started by Preach2k, Jun 9, 2011.

  1. Preach2k
    Offline

    Preach2k DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hometown Brooklyn, NY Now Fuquay Varina, NC
    Motorola Announces Photon 4G on Sprint, Triumph on Virgin Mobile


    [​IMG]

    This afternoon in New York City, Sprint and Motorola's press event has revealed the Photon 4G, along with the Motorola Triumph on Virgin Mobile pre-paid.

    Available Photon 4G specs:

    • qHD display
    • dual-core Tegra 2
    • A gigabyte of RAM

    • The Photon 4G's screen measures in at 4.3 inches
    • Motorola's laptop dock.
    • Gingerbread-running Photon 4G will include a GSM modem for international support.

    Motorola's Triumph has:

    • 4.1-inch 800x480 WVGA screen
    • Contender for thinnest smartphone, is respectably slender at a hair over a centimeter thick.
    • 512MB of RAM and runs a MSM8655 Snapdragon, presumably at 1GHz.
    • Rear five-megapixel camera for 720p video recording
    • HDMI-out
    • Android2.2
    This is the first Motorola Phone on Virgin Mobile,

    Both the Photon 4G and Triumph will become available this summer.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    For More Specs:Sprint Newsroom | Motorola Photon 4G fact sheet
    Source: PocketNow Via:Motorola
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2011
  2. cdguylhs
    Offline

    cdguylhs New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wonder if this means that the Verizon announcement will be soon?
  3. bsweetness
    Online

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,560
    Likes Received:
    136
    Trophy Points:
    63
    If the Bionic has a GSM radio like this does, I'll be all over it.
  4. Dusty
    Offline

    Dusty Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    181
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    DC/NoVA
    Ok dumb question time.

    I keep a jailbroken 3GS on hand for when I travel. When I go to Europe I usually stop in a Tim or Vodaphone shop and I pickup a simcard for around €60. I pop it in and after booting I'm off and running with a phone that I tether and link to skype, etc. I get 5GB of data and unlimited text and voice time for 30 days.

    I travel overseas for fun several times a year so it's not like work picks up the tab. With a phone like this do you insert a simcard overseas or are you just essentially roaming and paying through the nose when you get back?
  5. Preach2k
    Offline

    Preach2k DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hometown Brooklyn, NY Now Fuquay Varina, NC
    Can you Believe it? Virgin Mobile is getting an Stock Android Device with no bloatware.
  6. FrellingFrakker
    Offline

    FrellingFrakker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Arm the photon torpedoes! But Cap'n, they're so ugly.
  7. jayman350
    Offline

    jayman350 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lowell, Ma
    vanilla android from Moto?!?! Depending on the rest of the specs, I would be interested in the Triumph.

    My gf has been giving me a hard time about my cell bill being $85+ when she is on a $25/month deal w/ Virgin Mobile on her LG Optimus V. I kept telling her that once Virgin gets better smarphones I would consider it.
  8. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Verizons lineup this year is total crap!
  9. jayman350
    Offline

    jayman350 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lowell, Ma
    there will be bloatware on it. Virgin loaded up at least 5 different useless apps on my gf's Optimus V, she won't let me root it to remove them.
  10. bsweetness
    Online

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,560
    Likes Received:
    136
    Trophy Points:
    63
    If you get the SIM slot unlocked (which Verizon will do for free if you're a customer in good standing...I don't know about Sprint), you can insert a SIM card overseas. You could go with international roaming, but like you said, you'll pay through the nose.

    I have a Droid Pro that's SIM unlocked. Works great here on Verizon and works great overseas with local SIM cards. I travel extensively and I have no plans to switch from Verizon here at home, so I need a phone that's global capable.
  11. Dwyndal
    Offline

    Dwyndal New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Virgin is sporting a OG Droid haha awesome, photon isn't bad looking either.
  12. EgooEspada
    Offline

    EgooEspada New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Everything I want in a Motorola smartphone for Verizon. Even apparently has an unlocked boot loader.
  13. Preach2k
    Offline

    Preach2k DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hometown Brooklyn, NY Now Fuquay Varina, NC
  14. Captmilk
    Offline

    Captmilk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    Too bad both phones are on lame networks
  15. Crankintopwater69
    Offline

    Crankintopwater69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Greensboro,NC
    If this phone is 199,im gonna SCREAM!!!!!!
  16. Crankintopwater69
    Offline

    Crankintopwater69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Greensboro,NC
  17. bsweetness
    Online

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,560
    Likes Received:
    136
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Well, according to Motorola, they'll leave it unlocked if that's what the carrier wants. So, since it looks like they're following through with that on the Photon, the ball will be in Verizon's court to make that call.
  18. patmw123
    Offline

    patmw123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Im curious as to whether or not the Triumph will have an unlocked bootloader. I've seen the article talking about the Photon, but with stock android on the Triumph, I wouldn't be surprised if the bootloader is unlocked. With that said, I can't imaging a phone made for Virgin mobile will have a very large development following.
  19. dsmryder
    Offline

    dsmryder New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just in time.

    If the Intercept can get a following, then This should have no problem. I know I will be looking hard at the Triumph in July. I hope there isn't a delay in it's release.
  20. cloudstrife05
    Offline

    cloudstrife05 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    How is it that these supposedly "inferior companies" get the better phones? That Photon looks nice!
Search tags for this page

does motorola triumph have sims card

,

photon q 4g net on virgin mobile

,

virgin mobile 4g tower messing with service