Man shouldI take the update?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by BullysonRazor, Jun 30, 2012.

  1. BullysonRazor

    BullysonRazor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I keep reading nothing but hurtful comments about the ICS update and i'm hesitant to take it because GB on my phone is working well for me..for some people who did not take the update yet should we wait till a update is ready for corrections?
     
  2. surge

    surge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't heard any of the bad about the update. I updated and am very impressed. Go for it.
     
  3. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,124
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    You're always going to read more negative things than positive things about an update like this because those with issues will be far more vocal than those without. Along with that, new updates also bring a large influx of new posters on the site (which is always welcome), but many of the new posters aren't as familiar with the ins and outs of Android and updates, so they'll have more questions and potential issues. That said, there are plenty of people, including myself, who have had no problems with the update. In fact, many people have seen improvements all the way around.

    And if you're stock and unrooted, it will be difficult to avoid the update for too long.
     
  4. TheHeavyJ

    TheHeavyJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I took the plunge and it was well worth it imo. One thing i read was that you would have to perform a small hack to get 3g access, but that seems to not be the case. Maybe that was the last minute battery drain issue they fixed? just putting it out there.
     
  5. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,124
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    I think what you're referring to is the ability to switch to 3G only mode, not to get 3G access. That's been a big issue for many with ICS. It used to be in the settings, but it's no longer there. You can still force the phone into 3G only mode through what some might call a "hack," although it's really not. It can also be forced with an app from the Play store.
     
  6. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,153
    Likes Received:
    4,039
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,529
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    The app is just a shortcut to the same menu.. saves ya from having to remember *#*#4636#*#* or whatever it is lol

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
     
  7. jdroid80

    jdroid80 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    the East Valley, AZ
    Ratings:
    +2
    It took me about half a day to come around to it. I didn't like it at first, but after adjustments and updating some apps it's working nice
     
  8. TheHeavyJ

    TheHeavyJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    After I did some more poking, it turns out that is what I was talking about. Previously I had been under the impression that under ICS, it was not at all possibru to get on a 3g network at all, and that users were forced to go 4g or not at all.

    Nonetheless in response to the OP, I was satisfied with Gb, but find the ICS to be an improvement in ways that matter to me. The stock Email app allows you to set the fetch time for each individual account, I like being able to Disable bloatware as opposed to simply hide it, and it seems perkier somehow.
     
  9. billabong1030

    billabong1030 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Isn't there a workaround to do 3g?
     
    #9 billabong1030, Jun 30, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2012
  10. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,124
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Yeah, that's what everyone on ICS has. Previously, the options were CDMA (3G-only) and LTE/CDMA. Many people who aren't in a 4G area (or who just want to save battery life), prefer to run the phone in 3G-only mode. The ICS update removed that option from the settings, as your screenshot shows. In order to force the phone into 3G-only mode, you have to either do it manually - which is covered in the first post of this thread: [How To] Enable 3G only mode - or use an app that does the same thing - LTE OnOFF - HTC Thunderbolt.
     
  11. billabong1030

    billabong1030 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah... I caught on when i actually read what options were there
     
  12. fasttrek

    fasttrek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    im using a rooted droid razr...not flashed yet....so how can i update my os to ics?
    i tried to update using the "system updates" under my settings. but it turns out being able to download but fails during unpacking. and so i learnt that i cant update it that way zzzzzzzzzz