Make Free VoIP Calls from Google Voice

Discussion in 'Off Topic Forum' started by JhankG, Jun 27, 2010.

  1. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make Free VoIP Calls from Google Voice

    I just followed this great guide and now can make free calls from Sipgate on my computer while using my Google Voice number. Thought someone else out there might find this interesting.
  2. nphil
    Offline

    nphil Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +1
    tried this and it didnt work for me this guide was hard for me to follow so i might have missed somthing but looked over it a few times i also tried guides from here

    Home - Loganss' Nexus One blog

    and i have tried to just use sip gate through 3cx but i cant figure out how to login

    any help??
  4. dinc44
    Offline

    dinc44 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm in the same boat! I followed Gurnted's instructions perfectly, and even went back through and double checked. But I'm not able to connect a few dots, and the whole thing is dead in the water.

    I already had a GV number that I use with my DROID.

    I have the SIPDroid app on my phone.

    I setup accounts with SIPGate, SIPSorcery, and PBXes, and input all of the various pieces of information and created all of the things I needed to create.

    Then he writes DONE! But there's no mention of where the SIPGate number comes into play, or my GV number, or how to setup SIPDroid on my phone to make this all work. I figured SIPDroid would be self-explanatory, then, right? But it's not.

    I used the username and password found on my PBXes account under SIP Extension and put it under the first SIP Account in the SIPDroid settings. I see nothing that asks for any of the phone numbers I have.

    So, to get to the point, I've done all of this work, and it doesn't work. How the heck do I get this in order so I can make and receive phone calls from my DROID over 3G/WiFi!!??

    And where does GV even come into play? Am I even using the stock phone dialer? If I do, is it in conjunction with the GV app, or another one like GVCallBack? I would think not, since they use the phone line and not the data connection. But nothing else is explained. Am I only using my GV number in that people call it, or it shows up when I call out using this whole VOIP setup? HELP PLEASE!!??
  5. dinc44
    Offline

    dinc44 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    NEVERMIND! I found his in-depth google doc, and it had the missing info I needed. I have my phone in airplane mode with the WiFi turned on, and I am able to send and receive calls!!!!!!!
  6. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +1
    wanna share that link??
  7. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,544
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    You can also just use gmail and make phone calls. Everyone is aware of that, right?
  8. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +1
    i was not is this only with the pc or phone too?? and can you call any phone??
  9. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,544
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    Computer only. Not the phone. Sorry, didn't mean to be misleading but I forget everybody doesn't sit in front of a computer like I do.

    If I'm in my house I use Google Voice to cut down on out going calls on Verizon. I have the 450 plan.
  10. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +1
    either one is fine for me i sit at my pc all day to plus i can only use my phone on wifi do you use a desktop client or the site and do you use the Gvoice number??
  11. Ving
    Offline

    Ving New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a friend in China who calls home to Canada a lot but she says the Google Voice option only appears in her account in the evenings and not during the day time. Anyone know why? very weird I thought.
  12. dinc44
    Offline

    dinc44 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    https://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=0Ae8glDUXDsh9ZGR2eG43cjRfMzNkOTM4ZjNjeA

    Honestly, I forget what it was I was missing or not understanding, but this seemed to give better instructions. I just referred to the pictures in is wordpress post.
Search tags for this page

3cx google voice

,
3cxphone google voice
,
3cx and google voice
,

3cx google voice setup

,
configure 3cx with google voice
,
google voice 3cx setup
,
google voice 3cxphone
,
google voice sip 3cx
,
use 3cx with google voice
,
use google voice with 3cx