tutorial: True VOIP: Google Voice > Droid

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by cellphonedork, Jan 29, 2010.

  1. cellphonedork
    Offline

    cellphonedork New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    True Voice over IP is not built into Google Voice. Google relays calls via the analog / pots phone system. With Gizmo5 in google's pocket, the "real" functionality of GV and VOIP is comming. Until then, here is a work around. I have this working and call quality is pretty good for not using cell minutes.

    1: Get a Google Voice account. I recommend the fully functional version, as in a NEW number assigned to you by google.

    2: Go to sipgate.com. Sign up for a sipgate one account (free).
    If you have a Gizmo5 account, great, we'll use that to.

    3: Sign up for an account at sipsorcery.com. (you must use a windows PC with Silverlight installed)

    4: Download and install Sipdroid to your droid. The market also has it. Do not sign up for PBX's.com.

    I would recommend signing into Google Voice, Sipgate and Sipsorcery in one window and under different tabs as you will be going back and forth between them.

    Then open: Unlimited Free Calling with Google Voice in a NEW window. READ THE ENTIRE PAGE. pay special attention to linking gizmo 5 and sipgate accounts to sipsorcery. Pay special attention to crating sipbindings.

    PAY VERY SPECIAL ATTENTION to the dial plan, as this is where the link is made between Google Voice and your droid.

    Add your credentials to sipdroid and you can now make calls via the internet and bypass Verizon all together.

    (edit: Mods feel free to move this if I placed it in wrong forum)
  2. MNTNBKR
    Offline

    MNTNBKR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Fenton, MI
    I tried this back when I first for my Droid (early Dec). It would be ideal for me since I get excellent cell signal everywhere except at home, so I could use VOIP at my house. But alas, I couldn't figure it out.

    Now, I consider myself a pretty tech savvy person. I used to build computers, and I'm always the "goto guy" for my families tech problems. But this... is over my head. The main problem that I had was trying to interpret the gozmo 5 instructions and apply them to the sipgate setup.

    I tried referencing several different sites with instructions, but none had a specific set of instructions for any method that is currently available (ie. not gozmo) to achieve VOIP with the Droid.
  3. cellphonedork
    Offline

    cellphonedork New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is not a clearing house for Google Voice invites. PLEASE DO NOT POST HERE REGARDING INVITES. please see the sticky at top of this forum page. If you post for invite, I will not help you with this config.

    Mtnbkr, I sent you a PM
  4. daevans315
    Offline

    daevans315 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    IL
    How well does this work when switching from wifi to 3g or the other way around. I would assume that would result in a dropped call? Or is Sipdroid smart enough \ fast enough to do the call setup and handoff to the new IP when I drive out of my WIFI range when leaving my house?
  5. cellphonedork
    Offline

    cellphonedork New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have mine set up to only use WiFi. I have not placed a call on 3D or Edge. I'll play with that today and let you know.
  6. LuN3yDaV3
    Offline

    LuN3yDaV3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I got to the part where you have sipdroid connect to your sipsorcery account. I entered user and password info, went into sipsorcery account and not seeing anything in the sip bindings. Refresh does nothing. Do I have to set this up via wifi? I was setting this up via 3G on phone and at work.
  7. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    edit: looks like it works, but it is a little cooky... also not sure if it's routed correctly, but my sip number does forward to my mobile.

    there is also about a 1 second delay... don't know if it's feasible to use for the long-term
  8. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    use your sipsorcery info, not your sipgate info
  9. LuN3yDaV3
    Offline

    LuN3yDaV3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh got it thanks. I was using sip:sipgate.com as the server name instead of sipsorcery.com. I either read the instructions wrong or it wasn't clear what to put there.
  10. deputc26
    Offline

    deputc26 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmmm, when I call my sipgate number sipdroid is not ringing my phone, the only page I edited in sipdroid was the "sip account settings" page I put in my sipsorcery credentials and got a green light in the status bar but it doesn't ring to my sipgate number.

    I have a provider and binding showing up in sipsorcery...

    could it be because I'm currently in canada? no, because the whole point is free calls worldwide...
  11. LuN3yDaV3
    Offline

    LuN3yDaV3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is where I got hung up too. make sure within sipsorcery when you add the sip provider "sipgate" the user name and password is NOT your sipgate site login, it's from the settings in sipgate. Within sipgate settings, hover over the phone that says 'Phone of <Your Name>' and choose SIP credentials. Enter SIP-ID and Password you see here into sip sorcery. Should be random letters/numbers for both.

    Once you do this, go back to sipgate settings like before and choose test phone. Mine was showing offline until if did this exact process.

    This was a pretty convoluted process, but I think I got it to work. mostly. This did give me a headache, but I don't like not figuring things out once I start. One question: Outbound calls can only go to land lines? I tried calling my wife's Sprint number and she could hear me but I couldn't hear her.
  12. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    not sure lun3dav3... to be honest i really don't know if i set it up correctly... i have no idea if my phone really is routed from sipgate -> GV... the # does work, and i have registered successfully with sipsorcery
  13. LuN3yDaV3
    Offline

    LuN3yDaV3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Quick tip for those wanting to attempt this:
    Read both sections in the google doc. The one that has the step by step and section 14 that has the screenshots. There are some important info in both that should have just been merged into one tutorial.
  14. wctaylor79
    Offline

    wctaylor79 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Island in Florida
    I am going to have to try this setup out. My question is dealing with when you are placing calls and people are calling you. Do they just dial your number and it routes through GV to your phone, or you have to use the GV number that is created? Likewise when you call out what number is it going to reflect to the other person?
  15. cellphonedork
    Offline

    cellphonedork New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry about not being on here. I've been stuck in google apps hell with some clients.

    I had it working, both inbound and outbound. At this point, I have only outbound working. Inbound routes to my cell via GV>Mobile.
  16. LuN3yDaV3
    Offline

    LuN3yDaV3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If I understand this whole process correctly, GV is the interface number and application for the VOIP service, but can't achieve true VOIP without this workaround.

    So to answer your question, you would have people call your GV number which routes them through to your sipgate number that GV is linked to. Outgoing will interface with GV, your sipgate number and use sipsorcery to do the actual routing to the receiving end. Kind of like a switchboard. Now what I don't get (yet) is what number people will see on their caller IDs. Is it your GV number or sipgate number? In the sipgate settings you can tell it what number people will see, but I don't know if that matters in this type of setup. Correct me if I'm wrong.
  17. LuN3yDaV3
    Offline

    LuN3yDaV3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This was happening to me too. You have to go into the GV web app and uncheck your mobile number from the forward to: phone list. I'm guessing this is your issue.

    This is the only drawback to this. When you are home and want to use VOIP, you have to only have your sipgate number active in GV. Once you want to go out and have calls going to your GV number forward to your VZ mobile, you will have to make sure to recheck you mobile number in the web app. You will then be using your plan's minutes though.

    EDIT: Unless you go somewhere that has wifi

    Anybody got this to work on 3G yet?
  18. cellphonedork
    Offline

    cellphonedork New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This should show GV number. DO NOT PUT CALLER ID NUMBER IN SIPGATE OR SIPDROID. This will mess with the routing being done by sipsorcery.

    What is actually happening, is that you place a call. Sipsorcery picks it up and routes to google voice. You are actually placed on hold briefly. GV calls you back via sipgate and is connected to your call on hold. Then the call is routed to its destination. Hence the lag in dialing the number. You can confirm on sipgate and sipsorcery logs that calls are being placed to your GV number.

    Sorry about not being around more. Been stuck in google apps and analytics hell with a client.

    I believe that above info is true. My setup just went a little kooky as well. I have great outbound, but inbound appears to be missing something at this point. I still get calls, but they route from GV to my mobile number (using cell minutes or F&F if you have GV registered). I also have sipgate routing to a Linksys SPA2102 and that works both inbound and outbound

    (double post) kind of
  19. LuN3yDaV3
    Offline

    LuN3yDaV3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wonder if that is why I was having an issue with the other end not hearing me. I put in the caller-id number. Off to remove it and test again.
  20. LuN3yDaV3
    Offline

    LuN3yDaV3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok in sipgate settings, options for caller ID are my sipgate 415 number, blocked or custom number. Which one do I choose?
Search tags for this page
android google voice over ip
,
android tutorial voip
,
android voice on ip code example
,
free voice over ip droid phone
,
free voice over ip phone service for droid
,
freedompop
,

google voice tutorial

,
motorola droid voice tutorials
,
sip wasn't built-into android
,
true voip
,

using sip with google voice

,
voice over ip android