lots of topics, sorry, rooting problem

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by fishy., Mar 28, 2011.

  1. fishy.

    fishy. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive tried reading through all the topics and i cant find anything with my issue..

    Unless im blind, which is most likely the case.

    I have everything downloaded, the exploits file is extracted to the platform folder.

    ive tried running the one click root, doesnt work, the Rooter, it reads my phone..

    But none of these restart it to the bootloader..

    i have my phone in charge mode, and usb debugging is on..

    any help would be nice,

    thank you
     
  2. fishy.

    fishy. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    update, loads into bootloader now, when it says flashing img it says no found, am i suppose to keep the PG05IMG_downgrade or change it to just PG05IMG

    sorry for all the questions..
     
  3. mau5hunter

    mau5hunter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    First which root method are we looking to debug??
     
  4. mau5hunter

    mau5hunter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It needs to be renamed PG05IMG.zip. if using windows careful to not name it zip.zip
     
  5. fishy.

    fishy. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. mau5hunter

    mau5hunter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. fishy.

    fishy. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    im using the easy rooter? do i need to have something else open? it does all that but when it goes to bootloader screen it tries flashing the img i pushed to it, but doesnt find it..
     
  8. mau5hunter

    mau5hunter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    I'm not extremely familiar with the easy root. I did long root (8 Steps) but the same steps your easy rooter is doing.

    You must have adb installed, which you can find instructions for on this forum or xda.

    Do double check adb is installed and can regonize your device, from the windows command line 'adb devices' should return a list of your device, and next to it its status; if it cannot regonize your device it will read "offline"

    Being that your getting to bootloader tells me this is all working, but like i said before, the file has to be named exactly as PG05IMG.zip, if you do a rename in windows and actually type the .zip the file will literally be saved as PG05IMG.zip.zip -your bootloader will not recognize this. double check that
     
  9. fishy.

    fishy. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    it reads my phone, finds my device... but something with the img.. i put the downgrade in first right?
     
  10. mau5hunter

    mau5hunter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes onto the root of your SD card...
     
  11. fishy.

    fishy. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    kk ive done that and renamed it to what it suppose to be..

    and ive noticed when i use the non downgrade one it doesnt push to the phone.. ah im confused, i probably shouldnt mess with it, but i have rooted og droid, x, and incredible.. idk why im having issues with this one
     
  12. mau5hunter

    mau5hunter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    You can do it... Messing is the fun. Try the 8 steps, its literally copy and pasting adb commands...