looking for something new

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Global Roms' started by stillwaiting, Sep 26, 2011.

  1. stillwaiting

    stillwaiting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    so i have the gb ota update rooted using d3 method, gb for me has been laggy, slow, not very relieable and has horrible battery life. im looking for a rom that has good battery life, fast, bucketloads of customization... etc, which one would u suggest? i have tried roms like cm7 and liberty and i enjoyed them.
     
  2. Saosinx

    Saosinx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you wanting to stay on gb or go back to froyo?

    Sent from CM7ed D2G
     
  3. stillwaiting

    stillwaiting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    either one is fine
     
  4. 13th angel

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    Tried ApeX yet?
     
  5. Jonas

    Jonas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Ratings:
    +15
    I'm running Liberty 2.0 and love it! The customization level is very high, and I have not had a ROM caused problem. All of my hiccups have been from user error.
     
  6. stillwaiting

    stillwaiting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    @ angel, no, how is it?
    @ jonas, are u running that with the get-r-done mod?
     
  7. Jonas

    Jonas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Ratings:
    +15
    Yes I used the Romer v7. You must use v7. The only down side is Theres no sensors. Which isn't a huge deal, but theres no GPS for my running app so thats my only complaint. Its an excellent setup.
     
  8. stillwaiting

    stillwaiting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    do you know whether or not u can get liberty gingerbread rom on the d2g yet?
     
  9. Jonas

    Jonas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Ratings:
    +15
    Honestly, I don't, because I have yet to get GB on my global. I think if you just sbf back to froyo if your running GB now, you'll be ok. I'm not sure if I fully understand your question. Are you asking if you are currently running GB, how to get to Liberty ROM, or if it can be done in general?
     
  10. fiveball02

    fiveball02 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I pretty sure i read elsewhere that liberty GB will not work on the d2G. The romer will only work with froyo.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  11. stillwaiting

    stillwaiting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    yes i know that the romer wont work with gingerbread but i was wondering if there was a liberty gb port for the d2g yet.
    dont worry about gingerbread cause quite honestly you arnt missing out on anything.
     
  12. Jonas

    Jonas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Ratings:
    +15
    I second that last part. I have read about a lot of people switching from their rom of choice to GB, and being supremly disappointed from the hype. I would stick with a froyo rom tbh.
     
  13. stillwaiting

    stillwaiting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    ya i switched from cm7 though i still have the backup i made so its not a horribly tragedy
     
  14. jlhaehl

    jlhaehl New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Shelbyville, Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    im running cm7 and absolutely love it
     
  15. hgrimberg

    hgrimberg Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cm7 is based on the gb ota update or on the gb leak? Still bugs on cm7? Apex is better?

    Enviado desde mi DROID2 GLOBAL usando Tapatalk