Liberty GB .8 Wifi Teather

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by mioduz, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. mioduz
    Offline

    mioduz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was playing around after i got liberty gb .8 installed on my droid X and I found a wifi Tether option under settings>>wireless
    Is this the equivelant of Verizon 3g hotspot (where as if i use it i will be charged)
    I ask because i can not get Wifi Tether to work. My laptop gets forwarded to some verizon page to pay for tethering.
  2. cjriddle22
    Offline

    cjriddle22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    the Ville
    Yes this is the Verizon hotspot. It is incorporated into the system on GB, not just an app you can delete like on Froyo. I hear there are work arounds if you really want it, but I myself am not exactly sure.
  3. SupraRZ95
    Offline

    SupraRZ95 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wifi tether 3.0 experimental version. Change device profile to droid x in its settings. Add password for encryption. Hit tether and ur done.

    dxsys.xbl
  4. pcpimp
    Offline

    pcpimp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CBUS
    I did this but still had to flash the TBH patch and it works GREAT!! I'm not worried about VZW I don't use it enough or abuse it :)
  5. jerry42570
    Offline

    jerry42570 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Aha! Forgot about changing the device profile again! Great to know I can always find answers before abandoning what seems like a great ROM so far. I flashed the TBH patch and nothing. I'll have to give it another test try when I get off of work.
  6. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    I also use Masqed Crusader to use Google DNS instead if Verizon.

    sent from my ApeX
  7. jmims
    Offline

    jmims New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, GA
    Set DNS is free.
  8. alosenster
    Offline

    alosenster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can anyone post instructions on how to get this to work? I tried, but when I connected to the hotspot it sent me to a Verizon redirect screen.
  9. jmims
    Offline

    jmims New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, GA
    This works for me on Liberty Gingerbread v.9. I also have Set DNS installed, but I doubt that's really doing anything.
  10. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Has always worked for me. Set to d2 and it works. I don't tether, but it's good to know that it's there if I need it

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.9 (Blacked out-red theme)
  11. lorider
    Offline

    lorider New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Love. This. Forum.

    Thanks!
  12. viper3773
    Offline

    viper3773 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, works :D
  13. viper3773
    Offline

    viper3773 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well it didn't work for any https sites :(

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk