Knock on only working to turn screen off..

Discussion in 'LG G2' started by Erikbal, Dec 20, 2014.

  1. Erikbal

    Erikbal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    So last night I had my phone sitting down and I tapped the screen to check the time and there was no response. I tried multiple times and nothing. If the screen is already on the knock feature will work to turn it off so it's definitely not the screen itself. I restarted the phone and that made no difference. I also turned the knock on feature off then back on again and it still only works to turn the screen off. Any ideas? It's got me kind of baffled. I really like this feature and it sucks not having it now out of nowhere.

    Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
     
  2. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,152
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    I'd do a battery pull while the phone is powered on.. Also.. Go into settings and I can't remember where.. But there's a place to recalibrate the sensors..

    If that doesn't work.. You'll have to try doing a fdr. My ex's g2 got like that. That was the cure.
     
  3. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,455
    Likes Received:
    3,886
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,348
    Take a slower approach. If you remember iPhone commercials where they methodically tap and swipe the screen (advertising gimmick to increase perception), more of a short press, and about the same time between taps as you slow the tap down to.
    For whatever reason even though the phone is set to recognizing fast taps the Knock On seems to only recognize medium taps after a while. You can go as far as a full factory wipe to restore it to like it was but over time it'll revert back to needing to slow down some.
    It's a known bug in Kit Kat that is supposed to be addressed in 5.0

    Support Our Troops !!!
    <><
    Beast Mode 4
     
  4. Erikbal

    Erikbal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Thanks guys. Ive tried all different ways of tapping and none work. Also can't do a battery pull, it's built in. Why would it work to turn the screen off but not on? I really don't want to do a factory reset.

    Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
     
  5. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,152
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    I forgot that the g2 had the battery built in.. At this point.. Calibrating the sensors in settings.. Or a fdr are my only thoughts.
     
  6. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,152
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Wait.. When did the g2 get knock code? Lol.. Its been a while..
     
  7. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,455
    Likes Received:
    3,886
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Ratings:
    +4,348
    I think Verizon got it mid-late summer. I got mine on T-Mobile about 6 weeks before, right after I got the phone in late May.

    Support Our Troops !!!
    <><
    Beast Mode 4
     
  8. Erikbal

    Erikbal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    My G2 has the knock on feature but I never got an actual knock code update.

    Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
     
  9. popcenator

    popcenator Droid X Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    750
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Ratings:
    +909
    You may need to update the touch firmware.

    on the move..