Screen turns off repeatedly

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by bill22uu, Jan 16, 2011.

  1. bill22uu

    bill22uu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are times when my Droid's screen turns off in the middle of doing something and then turns itself off in seconds every time I get it back on. This has happened several times. What causes this? What can I do to stop it?
     
  2. elvyrorie

    elvyrorie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you rooted and overclocked? If so try a different speed. If you are not rooted backup all your apps and then uninstall them. If your phone keeps doing it you have a problem. If it stops, then start reinstalling your apps slowly. Try to figure out which one is messing you up.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  3. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Run through the settings, I can't remember exactly where but the global has a pocket detect function that occasionally causes this issue.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  4. bill22uu

    bill22uu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not rooted or overclocked. I checked the settings (Display) and turned off In-Pocket Detection. So far, so good. Thanks!
     
  5. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hope that does it :)

    tappin and a talkin
     
  6. elvyrorie

    elvyrorie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did not know about that setting that's good to know.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  7. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ya its on the global and pro as of now and I think it defaults to being on but I think it needed a little bit more testing since many people have been having issues with it.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  8. elvyrorie

    elvyrorie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guess that's why I had no idea. I have the regular droid 2.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  9. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Exactly. We may end up seeing it on our device in a future update since it just utilizes the light and/or proximity sensor.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  10. elvyrorie

    elvyrorie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had my phone do the same as he was talking about and I had a crazy application. I don't remember what it was, but I was just constantly downloading apps then.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  11. snowman51789

    snowman51789 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry if this is a newbie question but i am new to smart phones but how do i back up my apps? i am having the same problem and thats what i want to try.
    thanks
     
  12. ensign

    ensign New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My wife and I are experiencing this problem occasionally with our non-Global Droid 2 phones. As far as I can tell, pocket detection isn't available on the non-Global phone. Sometimes the only way we can recover is to pull the battery or do a full reboot of the phone. Any ideas as to how to resolve this issue on the non-Global Droid 2?

    Thanks!
     
Search tags for this page
android screen keeps blacking s3 out
,
droid hd screen keeps blacking out and back on
,
galaxy s3 screens turns of when i use it
,

my android keeps blacking out

,
my galaxy 3 keeps blacking out
,
my screen keeps blacking out htc one
,
phone screen turns on and off repeatedly
,
s4 screen keeps blacking out
,
screen keeps blacking out on motoral global
,

why does my phone keep blacking out