Droid 2 screen not unlocking issue

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by lucey, Feb 28, 2011.

  1. blaisedinsd

    blaisedinsd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you reset you will lose everything that's not backed up. Usually your google account should backup your apps from market (but not data, you will lose your progress in angrybirds for instance), your calendar and contacts associated with your google account. Your notes will be lost, but if they are important you should find a way of backing them up anyway. I think some apps you log in and restore your notes that way. Oh and of course all your home screen customization will be gone too.

    Backing up is important. If you get a replacement phone you will lose a bunch of stuff if you don't backup. So you may want to go ahead and try a reset, just expect to lose some stuff.

    I am not really an expert, but I know there is a factory reset option in the settings menu, I think under privacy. Its factory data reset. There is another way too you might want to try if that doesn't work, I am searching for those instructions if you want them.
     
  2. 13th angel

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    The other way is going through recovery, it does the same thing as factory reset though.
     
  3. blaisedinsd

    blaisedinsd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you sure it is the same because in recovery you can also wipe cache.

    I was going to post instructions.
     
  4. 13th angel

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    If I remember right factory reset wipes cache as well. Regardless, most use recovery to wipe because it does it all right there.

    To wipe data/cache in recovery:
    Hold x when turning on
    Hit the search softkey when its to the droid with an exclamation point behind it
    Use volume rocker to go down to wipe data/cache
    Press camera button to select
    Select yes, camera button to select
    When done select reboot now and then press the camera button again to reboot.

    In order to save your data (such as in angry birds) use titanium back up (requires root) before wiping.

    Sent from my Liberated D2G
     
  5. lucey

    lucey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My phone automatically does the "back up assistant" every night, I know this because from time to time I will wake up to a backup failed message. So is that back up assistant doing the job for me when it comes to backing my crap up like apps. Whateer the backup assistant is, it was pre-installed on my phone and it does the nightly backup since I got it so I really have no clue what it does or how it works.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  6. 13th angel

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    Back up assistant is vzw's version of the gmail contact backup. Its not needed since gmail/facebook have all your contact information saved anyways.

    Sent from my Liberated D2G
     
Search tags for this page
droid 2 global wont unlock
,

droid 2 screen will not unlock

,
droid 2 screen wont unlock
,

droid 2 will not unlock

,

droid 2 wont unlock

,
droid screen will not unlock
,
motorola droid 2 will not unlock
,
my droid 2 wont unlock
,
what to do when your droid 2 wont unlock
,
why wont my droid 2 unlock