K9 email on Droid

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by kwass, Dec 2, 2009.

  1. kwass

    kwass New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am a long time BB user and recently purchased the Droid on Verizon. I installed the K9 email app since I wanted some additional functionality but I am unable to get this thing to work. On - Checking outgoing server settings - I get a error message saying "Cannot connect to server. (Unable to open connection to SMTP server)

    My company uses a hosted Exchange Server that I am trying to connect to.

    I am not a developer but do know a little about technology so any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. SmittyZ3M

    SmittyZ3M New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried using the "stock/standard" e-mail application to sync to your company's Exchange server, instead of K-9?

    I have used K-9 to connect to POP3 servers. I originally attempted to use the "stock/standard" e-mail application to connect to my POP3 server, but I found it to be very buggy. I came across K-9 and I feel that it works very well for me.
     
  3. zmeflyby

    zmeflyby Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried using k-9, but it was really buggy. The original email application is better. sadly....
     
  4. danhur

    danhur New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried many times to get my msn account with the original email app. But everytime I ran the email app it failed with a dialog box saying application halted. Tried k9 and now have all 4 email accounts running great not one failure. I don't use exchange at my company just pop but k9 is a droid saver for me.
     
  5. tishabarr

    tishabarr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have my hotmail acct. linked to k 9. I have no problem getting emails or notifications, but is there a way to view my hotmail contacts through k9?
     
  6. daftlush

    daftlush Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does K9 have copy/paste?
     
  7. Spartan

    Spartan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mid Michigan
    Ratings:
    +1
    You might want to try again. The new version (2.403) which is available in the market is much better than the stock version. It allows for multiple accounts, signatures, bulk deletion of emails and more. It is significantly better than stock IMHO.
     
  8. droidemere

    droidemere Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Droid Universe.
    Ratings:
    +0
    K9 has never worked for my work email..even with the new updated version..Always messes up when configuring outgoing server..The stock email app is pretty nice..I get all my work emails no problem..the only bad thing is it doesn't allow you to add a signature when sending out emails..other than that, it works just fine.
     
  9. slinky

    slinky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am very discriminating. K-9 works very well and I put it through the ringer. I still haven't heard why it doesn't work for you except for user error.
     
  10. jacktmn

    jacktmn New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    K9 questions

    I have 2 questions about K9 i assume it works on the Driod

    1. Does it work with IMAP
    2. Does it have a Spell Checker

    Thank you for any information
     
  11. aminaked

    aminaked Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    1. Yes, it can. Unfortunately, it doesn't work with 100% of IMAP servers. I had an issue where I wanted to check email on a server running old software and K9 just couldn't hack it. I posted a bug report on the K9 site and it might be ironed out in the latest releases but I haven't tried it.

    2. No.
     
  12. rdejr

    rdejr New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Including Original Text in Email Replies

    Using HTC Incredible with K-9 via IMAP - when i reply to an email, is there a way to include the original message? thx
     
Search tags for this page
does k9 email work with android 2.33
,
how to get k9 app on droid
,
how to send a screenshot in an k-9 email for droid
,
how to use spell checker in k-9 mail
,
k-9 app for droid
,
k-9 on verizon phone
,
k9 email app for droid
,
k9 email droid turbo issues
,

k9 email for droid

,
unable to send email to one person using k9