Just Picked Up The Droid

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by BuzWeaver, Jan 2, 2010.

  1. BuzWeaver
    Offline

    BuzWeaver New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta GA - USA
    It has a bit of a learning curve and right off the bat I'm going to have to figure out why its not mounting on XP via USB, while I'm searching for the rest of my contacts.
  2. frankieg22x
    Offline

    frankieg22x New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    pull down the shade and click on the usb. Then click mount. Should be good
  3. frankieg22x
    Offline

    frankieg22x New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    adding contacts is easiest by saving the file to your gmail account and uploading it.
  4. BuzWeaver
    Offline

    BuzWeaver New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta GA - USA
    Yep, tried that, ironically it shows as unmountable, but doesn't show up as an additional drive for data transfer.
  5. frankieg22x
    Offline

    frankieg22x New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i wonder if your sd is mounted in your phone...

    go into settings and then click on sd card & phone storage. Does it have an option to mount the sd?
  6. BuzWeaver
    Offline

    BuzWeaver New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta GA - USA
    Interestingly enough its not seeing the SD Card. This would probably explain why I only have a few of my contacts listed instead off all of them. I called the rep, he walked me through the Import process and it appears the phone isn't seeing the SD Card (SD Card Not Detected).

    I'm able to charge the phone (via USB) and unmount/disconnect it from the Remove Hardware icon (But it does not appear in the Hard Disk Drive Listing). He ask that I come back to the store so he can look at it. I'll update you upon my return.
  7. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,072
    Likes Received:
    707
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Welcome to the forums BuzWeaver

    I'd recommend you restart your computer first.

    Now get on your Droid go to settings, look for the SD card section, unmount the disk and then click on format. After thats done take a picture, if you can't powercycle the phone and try again.

    After you take the pic connect the Droid to the computer tell the Droid to mount the SD for the USB function.


    If that doesn't work pull the battery and reinstall the the SD card and do the steps over again from unmounting to formating to taking a pic etc.

    This should work
  8. BuzWeaver
    Offline

    BuzWeaver New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta GA - USA
    Won't formating remove my Contacts?
  9. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Contacts are sync'ed with the Gmail account you used when signing up....They will push back.
  10. BuzWeaver
    Offline

    BuzWeaver New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta GA - USA
    I see, it just seems strange that I can connect all my other USB devices and they mount with no problems, with the exception of the Droid. I don't suppose it has anything to do with the new Firmware? I'm running the 2.0.1. I'll give the format a try.
  11. BuzWeaver
    Offline

    BuzWeaver New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta GA - USA
    I called Tech Support, they suggested it was a bad SD Card so I went back to the Verizon store and they replaced SD Card. Came home and my computer is not seeing creating a Mobile Phone pathway folder. I plugged it into another unit and it populates as Mobile Device and is mountable.

    Unless I've disabled something in Services the computer should generate a Mobile Device. When I use my Flash Drives, GPS or Camera the computer sees them and creates a Drive Pathway for them, not with the Droid.
  12. BuzWeaver
    Offline

    BuzWeaver New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta GA - USA
    Finally figured it out, it was my Acronis Home software (disk management). It apparently was trying to manage the SD disk volume and didn't know what the Droid (format) was. Even going into disk manage and assigning the Droid a drive letter wouldn't work, but removing Acronis did the trick (what a pain).


    When I would go to Device Manager I was getting a conflict exclamation indicating an Unknown Volume Drive for the Droid. It was at that point it dawned on me that it was probably the darn Acronis software.