Just got thunderbolt and just signed up

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by shawndama, Apr 3, 2011.

  1. shawndama

    shawndama New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new and just wanted to know what rooting means and what it can do?
     
  2. MrKleen

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    Before you think about that you should learn all the ins and outs of your stock phone. Without being fully acquainted with what you have you won't appreciate a Rom.

    Rooting will allow you to eliminate the bloat and load custom roms.

    The stock Thunderbolt is amazing and will keep you busy for some time.
     
  3. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  4. shawndama

    shawndama New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you...Also have another question..I don't see a option for vibrate and ringtone when receiving a text messages. Any idea how to fix that if it's possible?
     
  5. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Open the app, tap menu, tap settings, tap notifications
     
  6. SierraRR

    SierraRR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Grand Forks ND
    Ratings:
    +0
    Welcome to the site.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  7. shawndama

    shawndama New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey mwhartman... After opening the apps ..I tap menu but do not see settings ...only thing i see is Grid. Share .Remove app.Sort..when i go to app then i see a settings but i dont see notifications? Im really confused and im sorry i just got the phone two days ago
     
  8. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Open the text app then tap menu, etc Sorry I was not clearer
     
  9. shawndama

    shawndama New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thank you so much...Thanks to everyone for the happy greetings .
     
  10. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Did you get the text notification to vibrate?
     
  11. shawndama

    shawndama New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    lol one more question..any way to make the vibrate stronger for both text and calls
     
  12. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I have a Droid and my vibration is very loud. I use Handcent and it allows me to set different patterns. I'm not sure if the TB does the same, sorry. Check the TB section of the Forum.