1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Thunderbolt Root help!!

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by kodemaniam, Aug 23, 2011.

  1. kodemaniam
    Offline

    kodemaniam New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright, So I just got my thunderbolt. It is cool but I would like to root but I'm not familiar with this type of root. Can someone Give me the best and simplest way to root this thing? I want my thunderbolt to really be the beast I know it can be. Thanks! :)
  2. XKXDISTURBEDXKX
    Offline

    XKXDISTURBEDXKX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Check out the auto root method, it is stickied under development :)

    sent from a 1.5ghz-Cyanogen 'Bolt
    [ROM] CM7 RC 1.6.1
    [Kernel] Protekk 2.6.35.14
    Waiting for the Vigor...
  3. kodemaniam
    Offline

    kodemaniam New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is there anything not working on it? like some dont completely root with s-off, or do you know?
  4. RyansGirl101302
    Offline

    RyansGirl101302 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    I used auto root and am so happy I did it!

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  5. CyberKing419
    Offline

    CyberKing419 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alton, Louisiana
    ok just searched some of the forums about rooting ur phone and i dont think i'm a make any attempts at it. Lost me when it said erases ALL data.:icon_ banana:
  6. drew
    Offline

    drew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    check again. There is a thread in the hacks forum for rooting without wiping. Theres even a really easy to follow YouTube video. Or search fro revolutionary.
  7. ivanrooni
    Offline

    ivanrooni New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wipe is the Safest Way

    You perform a full wipe of the phone, wipe/factory reset, wipe cache and wipe dalvik cache. If you are coming from a ROM (rooted) you can simply back up the ROM before wiping. Then if things are not to your liking you can restore.

    I performed a full wipe yesterday. Used Back Up Assistant before the wipe and used Back Up Assistant to restore all 567 contacts after the installation. Worked perfectly. Then after signing into my google account the Market started replacing my prevously downloaded apps, automatically.

    Problem with some ROMs is that old data doesn't mix well with the new ROM. Causing problems galore. I am a newbie pretty much. Thus far four ROMs installed over the past 6 months on various phones. If I can do this you can to! Lots of opportunities out there for some pretty slick themes, etc.
  8. zwegan
    Offline

    zwegan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dover, DE
  9. duvall8
    Offline

    duvall8 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I recently rooted after months of waiting and debating. I used the revolutionary root method and it worked great. No data loss. Now my phone is awesome.

    Currently running the new das BAMF with sense 3.0

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  10. drew
    Offline

    drew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH

    For flashing ROMS, yes .. wiping is preferred. But this thread is about rooting the Thunderbolt, so not sure why you quoted me. Revolutionary is the preferred method for rooting the TB, and there is no wipe or data loss. See zwegans link in his post. I tried, but my TouchPad wouldn't let me copy / paste the URL. What can you expect for $149 though?