I'm an idiot, I did "format boot"

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible Hacks' started by BigBlackJeep, Jan 7, 2011.

  1. BigBlackJeep

    BigBlackJeep New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, I was having an issue with my Incredible and I thought maybe by hitting "format boot" in the partitions menu that it would fix it. Now the phone wont load. Please help, I'm a moron when it comes to this phone.
     
  2. enlightened

    enlightened DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +4
    Are you rooted? And when you say the phone won't boot, what exactly is it doing?
     
  3. BigBlackJeep

    BigBlackJeep New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I'm rooted and when I power it on it goes right into the white screen with the three androids at the bottom and the 4 options of FASTBOOT, RECOVERY, CLEAR STORAGE, and SIMLOCK.
     
  4. enlightened

    enlightened DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +4
    Okay, if you go into recovery, what happens?
     
  5. BigBlackJeep

    BigBlackJeep New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    it loads the white HTC Incredible screen, then goes to the black and green recovery screen
     
  6. BigBlackJeep

    BigBlackJeep New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think i need the boot files, i'm pretty sure it just deleted them when i chose format boot". Thoughts?
     
  7. enlightened

    enlightened DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hang on a minute- consulting with Doug on this.
     
  8. BigBlackJeep

    BigBlackJeep New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome! Thanks so much
     
  9. BigBlackJeep

    BigBlackJeep New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just fyi, I've wiped and restored as well as completely reloaded froyo to try to fix it with no avail.
     
  10. doug piston

    doug piston Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +4
    Flash another rom or restore a back up.... It will replace the boot.img for ya.
     
  11. BigBlackJeep

    BigBlackJeep New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    awesome, how would i go about flashing another rom. would it be the same as manually loading froyo because i already did that to no avail?
     
  12. enlightened

    enlightened DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +4
Search tags for this page
android boot format
,

android format boot

,
android system boot formatted
,
format boot
,

format boot android

,
format boot in android
,
format boot partition android
,
formatboot
,
formatted boot android
,
formatted boot partition android