ICS on the MAXX

Discussion in 'Droid Razr and Razr Maxx ICS discussion' started by CaptainSS, Jun 11, 2012.

  1. CaptainSS
    Offline

    CaptainSS Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    227
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains, In the Woods
    Ratings:
    +249
    In anticipation of the "Big Day" later tonight or tomorrow I went ahead and bought champagne and .... Oh (I digress)
    What I meant to say was I removed ALL my "stuff" in anticipation of the big switchover. Anybody else making any special preparations? Anything that should be done?
    Several of us are going to get together and sleep in shifts so there is always at least one person up to watch the phones "transform".
    Should be pretty Cool.




    ( Yes I was joking) but, I do find the sound of crickets on "ICS Eve" quite ... telling. I wonder IF Big Red notices the apparent climate of burn-out that seems to have settled over the event.
     
  2. Chukee
    Offline

    Chukee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    If there is an update. And that is a big If I usually do a factory reset after any updates.
     
  3. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12,446
    Likes Received:
    1,225
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +1,300
    I have done a fdr on all of my maxx's to ensure a clean install of ics. I don't anticipate it happening though. Perhaps a soak will start, I hope. :)

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
     
  4. CaptainSS
    Offline

    CaptainSS Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    227
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains, In the Woods
    Ratings:
    +249
    Ok, so do a Factory Reset AFTER/BEFORE an update (thought I might have read one of you do it before and one was after) BUT wait until it is a little more definative as to whether/when/If..... the Update will happen.
    Thanks.
     
  5. Chukee
    Offline

    Chukee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I usually dont do it before because half the time the update dont happen on the dates that are rumored leaving you to have to install all your apps again.
     
  6. FoxKat
    Online

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,029
    Likes Received:
    1,582
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,641
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    For me, it's the Mockingbird that lives on my property that SINGS ALL NIGHT LONG, during the summer. He's got literally dozens if not 100+ songs and where I live things get real quiet, no road noise so I can hear nothing but him. He lulls me to sleep at night with the windows open and the cool breeze wafting in. All I need now is an Ice Cream Sandwich and I'll be set for the midnight treat!!
     
  7. drivinfocused
    Offline

    drivinfocused Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Niagra of the West(Twin Falls, Idaho)
    Ratings:
    +3
    Talked with a guy at work and verizon called his buddy and told him it was ready. I'm figuring a soak test.
     
  8. Caesars
    Offline

    Caesars Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +44
    My mailman said he talked to his Verizon buddy at a local authorized agent, it's coming today.

    I kid I kid
     
  9. weatherlover1
    Offline

    weatherlover1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    U.P Mi
    Ratings:
    +5
    I will believe it when I see it..
     
  10. bruben7886
    Offline

    bruben7886 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    We'll see. It'll happen when it happens. VZ is in no rush. The update makes them no money.
    OP: yes, definitely do a factory reset before the update. You stated you "removed all my stuff". A factory reset cleans the data sector of remaining "leftover stuff" for a "clean slate". A factory reset post update can't hurt anything either.
     
  11. weatherlover1
    Offline

    weatherlover1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    U.P Mi
    Ratings:
    +5
    Factory reset? No unless I have to.. I hate reinstalling everything. :blink:
     
  12. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12,446
    Likes Received:
    1,225
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +1,300
    I'm not saying everybody should. I did though

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
     
  13. CaptainSS
    Offline

    CaptainSS Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    227
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains, In the Woods
    Ratings:
    +249
    Now erased BUT the customization I had set up with GoLauncher/GoLauncher Locker/ Animated Widgets etc. etc. had severly diminished my excitement and caring that the sandwich would ever arrive.
    I guess I mat have fallen for it (again) maybe.... this is like being back in High School and your "Favorite" Girlfriend breaking up with you, Not, Yes/No?maybe well maybe we can be friends, No...... What? Ok.
     
  14. mikeyb1029
    Offline

    mikeyb1029 New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you do a reset dont you have to reload all your apps? Or is there another way?
     
  15. bruben7886
    Offline

    bruben7886 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    So do I, but I did for froyo to gb on my last phone (as recommended on a forum post I had read). Post the update myriads of threads complained of buggy updates. Factory resets were not helping much. The folks who flashed back to froyo and did a factory reset before retaking the ota gb (mostly, not generalizing here) had the problem solved. Search the droid 2 global forum at about the august through november of last year time frame.
    On a side note.....same forum.....hope we don't see this pattern here
    1, "where is gb? Vz promised....
    2, "it's here!!!!"
    3, "it sucks....how do I flash back?"
    :)
     
Search tags for this page
1967 corvette wallpapers for razr maxx
,

go locker ics

,

how to screenshot on droid razr

,
pm728851d