I have a few questions prior to buying a droid

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by DJAngelicon, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. DJAngelicon

    DJAngelicon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys, I have a few questions about this phone if you guys can help me with some answers.

    1. Can you use the phone in a WiFi Hot Spot to surf and download and not get charged or do you still get charged?

    2. Do you need to have the data package in order to use WiFi, Chat, Surf Web, etc..?

    3. What is the battery life of the phone?

    4. What is the gold piece near the keyboard?

    That would be all for now Thanks In Advance!
     
  2. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    I filled in some answers :)
     
  3. minmongoblin

    minmongoblin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    1) Using Wi-Fi doesn't contribute to your 5GB limit with the data plan (which you HAVE to get)

    2) See above

    3) Pretty choppy the first few days, but that's expected because you'll be toying around with it getting it the way you like. After that, depending on use, just charge every night or every other night

    4) A directional-pad that let's you move the cursor while typing.
     
  4. DJAngelicon

    DJAngelicon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    WoW! Thanks for the uber fast response. Well I was also wondering getting mine from wirefly.com and it seem I don't need to select data package with it. So I still might get the phone with a family plan but just no data package at the moment. Maybe is a deal that the site has but not sure I will look over it again carefully.
     
  5. CorvetteAustin24

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +0
    MinMonGoblin, you're confused on the data plan. The data plan we have is unlimited. 100% unlimited. The 5GB only is for tethering your phone, for example, using your phone to give your laptop an internet connection.

    Also, DJAngelicon, if you plan on using the phone with verizon, it has to have the $30/month data plan. There's no way to get a voice plan without the data plan. I suppose you could buy the phone and just use wifi and no voice, but that would be weird.
     
  6. DJAngelicon

    DJAngelicon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh i c, man that sucks why forcing people to get data package on top of the regular service just to get voice?
     
  7. rebornlaxer

    rebornlaxer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just get the phone it is amazing you will love it!!!
     
  8. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    All smart phones now require a e-mail/data package. Just the way it is.
     
  9. MrCapcom

    MrCapcom Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +0
    dag you guys are waaaay too helpful lol I wanted to help but most of everything is answered lol gj guys!

    My 2 Cents Get it :)
     
  10. DJAngelicon

    DJAngelicon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea but to pay for two phones two data package and service would just kill me. lol

    Well Thank you all for the answers but due to Verizon forcing people to have the data package with these smart phones I might have to go with something not so restricted. The phone I love a lot just the cost per month is in my opinion not worth it for me at this time.
     
    #10 DJAngelicon, Jan 5, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2010
  11. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Correct me if I'm wrong here guys but I don't think it's just Verizon. If you buy a smart phone on any carrier, you have to get a data plan of some sort.... right?
     
  12. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    I think I remember people using the Storm and not needing a data package that way, like on AT&T with the Storm. They used EDGE, IIRC.