I call bull on the GNex cpu

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by alucard9114, May 21, 2012.

  1. alucard9114

    alucard9114 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San diego Cali baby
    Ratings:
    +2
    After having this phone for 5 months and having exp from PC - smart phone CPU
    I have came to the conclusion this CPU is an overclocked 1 ghz.
    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,080
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    And your findings are based on....?
     
  3. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    And your conclusion (backed by no facts or evidence) is completely wrong.

    The Galaxy Nexus uses the TI OMAP 4460, which is a 1.5GHz chipset. It is technically underclocked. However with these mobile chipsets, there is no "set in stone" clock speed; the 1.5GHz rating means it can run UP TO 1.5GHz.
     
    #3 Dave12308, May 21, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: May 22, 2012
  4. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,080
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Thanks for posting the correct information though, Dave!
     
    #4 dezymond, May 21, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: May 22, 2012
  5. Durandgir

    Durandgir Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Douglas, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    from my previous assumptions the RAZR and Nexus have the same exact CPU so therefore wouldn't that mean also that "people should be calling bull" on that one too?
     
    #5 Durandgir, May 21, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: May 22, 2012
  6. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    Actually, the RAZR (and Bionic, D4, and D3) all have the TI OMAP 4430, which is basically the same, but the max clockspeed of the 4430 is (as specced by TI) 1.0GHz. In essence, the RAZR and D4 are overclocked from the factory.

    The 4460 in the GNex also has a slightly faster GPU (384MHz, vs. 304MHz for the 4430)
     
    #6 Dave12308, May 21, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: May 22, 2012
  7. Durandgir

    Durandgir Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Douglas, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I was close haha. I must had gotten the numbers mixed up my bad lol.
     
  8. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    No worries, it's confusing when companies release multiple versions of the same chipset, with minor differences. The chipset to really look forward to is the OMAP 4470, as that one has the multicore GPU like the iPhone 4S
     
  9. Durandgir

    Durandgir Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Douglas, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree its getting crazy, now that's going to be awesome. But back on topic its 1.2ghz and I have not seen anything that says so otherwise. Plus how can you argue its not when most roms are defaulted at 1.2ghz. Unless you under locked it just for the sake of trolling us I don't see your reasoning Alucard.
     
  10. Briankbl

    Briankbl Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    958
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +99
    lol OP ran away never to be heard from again.

    The End.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  11. alucard9114

    alucard9114 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San diego Cali baby
    Ratings:
    +2
    I understand that all cpus are different but as for mine it runs at 1.2ghz and under if I go over that with any kernal it will lock up hope this galaxy s 3 holds up better.

    Sent from my GT-i9300 using Tapatalk
     
    #11 alucard9114, May 21, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: May 22, 2012
  12. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,346
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    hmm.

    Let's cut out the SD Police talk?

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk 2
     
Search tags for this page
galaxy nexus gpu frequency
,
gnex cpu location
,
gpu clock speed galaxy nexus
,
optimal speed cpu galaxy nexus
,

samsung galaxy nexus gpu clock