HTC Thunderbolt Overclocked Further - Over 2GHz!

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Apr 5, 2011.

  1. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,018
    Likes Received:
    3,980
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +4,255
    [​IMG]

    Last week we shared with you that the HTC Thunderbolt had been overclocked to a 'lightning fast' 1.8GHz. It seems that it has been overclocked again, and this time it jumps from 'lightning speed' to 'light speed', at just over 2GHZ! This overclock report comes courtesy of a Tweet from P3Droid. It's crazy how fast this tech is moving... reminds me of the PC, only an even faster evolution.

    Source: Phandroid
     
  2. BigMcGuire

    BigMcGuire Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Ratings:
    +2
    What do you think the upper limit will be before usability starts trumping speed? I know with the OG Droid (stock 550Mhz) was good at 1.25Ghz but above that it restarted a lot and got REALLY hot. The HTC Thunderbolt is what, 1Ghz? And now we're at 2Ghz. Already 2x of what it was.
     
  3. Chachmo78

    Chachmo78 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Saint Petersburg, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    It amazes me in how a little over a year and a half (explosion of Android phones on ALL carrierz) that smart phones are getting so close to replacing laptops for a majority of functions. With docking stations (think the AT&T android) all we need is an only slight beefier processor and laptops will be obsolete.



    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  4. RoyR80

    RoyR80 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    95% true... i cant play Call of Duty on my fone though...... ;-)
     
  5. Chachmo78

    Chachmo78 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Saint Petersburg, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    ... yet... wait a few more days ;P

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  6. JerseyFirefighter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    gonna have a proton pack strapped to your back to power that already juice hungry pig. Dont cross the streams!
     
  7. Sweettooth

    Sweettooth Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Ratings:
    +11
    No I'm sure tablets are already the laptop replacement in mind.
     
  8. Disposibleteen

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't imagine they were able to run it at those speeds but I wonder what there quadrant score would look like if they were able to.
     
  9. Hugh Jass

    Hugh Jass Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Ratings:
    +123
    It says stable. Stable means stable.
     
  10. Disposibleteen

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Stable does not mean stable. The Core I7 processor in my computer can boot into windows at 5GHz+ and appear to be stable up until a resource hungry program is started, then it bluescreens. My computer is stable enough for windows 7 at 5GNz but not stable enough for very many programs was just wondering if this was kind of the same deal.
     
  11. rage151

    rage151 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seriously, does this matter if the memory bottlenecks data? I really don't know, but is the TB's memory different than what has been used for years in mobile phones?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  12. kptphalkon

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Big difference. A 2 ghz tbolt only has ram running at 400 pr 533 MT/s, newer phones with lpddr2 have the potential for ram running at 800 or beyond (i believe though lpddr2 has a theoretical max of 1066 MT/s)