How to use a T-mobile prepaid SIM card on Verizon XT912?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by nerflirui, Jan 20, 2013.

  1. nerflirui

    nerflirui New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Phone model is Motorola XT 912, initially in 4G LTE plan. I now realized I'm not using it as a web browser at all and just wanna avoid wasting dollars on monthly payment by using a T-mobile prepaid plan SIM card.

    The problem is: when I start the phone, it shows "This SIM card is from an unknown sourse", with a full-screen white background (notice it is not "the phone needs a SIM card to operate", which means it actually detected the SIM just can't use it). And when click "OK" and proceed, I cannot make any calls because it tells me "Outgoing calls are restricted by FDN". Also, when the screen is locked I see "Verizon Wireless|No SIM card." on top of the clock.

    So could anyone please help me with this matter? I'd really appreciate it.
     
  2. nerflirui

    nerflirui New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Phone model is Motorola XT 912, initially in 4G LTE plan. I now realized I'm not using it as a web browser at all and just wanna avoid wasting dollars on monthly payment by using a T-mobile prepaid plan SIM card.

    The problem is: when I start the phone, it shows "This SIM card is from an unknown sourse", with a full-screen white background (notice it is not "the phone needs a SIM card to operate", which means it actually detected the SIM just can't use it). And when click "OK" and proceed, I cannot make any calls because it tells me "Outgoing calls are restricted by FDN". Also, when the screen is locked I see "Verizon Wireless|No SIM card." on top of the clock.

    So could anyone please help me with this matter? I'd really appreciate it.
     
  3. nerflirui

    nerflirui New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    btw it didn't ask me to enter SIM unlock code anyware, so SIM unlock code may not be the problem
     
  4. jackiescivic

    jackiescivic Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    286
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Muskego, WI
    Ratings:
    +289
    I would assume you need to get the phone unlocked, since T-Mobile is GSM and Verizon is CDMA
     
  5. wheeliest

    wheeliest New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    you got the wrong forum buddy, this is for the droid 4.
     
  6. nerflirui

    nerflirui New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm what exactly is the 'unlock' you are suggesting? I checked out unlocking SIM locks with code, but there is no screen showing 'enter SIM code' or something when I plug in foreign SIM card, just a white screen showing 'SIM card from unknown source'... It will be much easier if it's a SIM lock problem :p
     
Search tags for this page

droid razr prepaid sim card

,

how to unlock droid razr xt912 for tmobile

,
motorola xt912 prepaid
,
sim card from unknown source
,

this sim card is from an unknown source

,
unlock droid razr xt912 for tmobile
,
xt912 on tmobile
,

xt912 prepaid

,
xt912 sim card is from an unknown source
,
xt912 t mobile