How To: Setup ADB on Windows 7 64bit (Should also work on 32bit)

Discussion in 'Droid X FAQ' started by hacku, Sep 1, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. hacku
    Offline

    hacku Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ.
    Ratings:
    +1
    This is a copy/paste from the thread I made over at AllDroid. Figured some people here might find it useful as well.

    Ok, so after seeing how much trouble most people have with Windows 7 I decided to make this. I too found the previous instructions a little confusing, but I finally figured out what I was doing wrong and was able to install them. Trust me, that when I point out what you guys were doing wrong you're going to laugh too...lol


    1. Download the attached .ZIP file and extract it somewhere you can find it (ie: C:\ADBDrivers_v3)
    2. Make sure your phone has USB Debugging enabled (Menu>Settings>Applications>Development)
    3. Plug USB cable into phone and put in USB Mass Storage Mode
    4. Open up Device Manager (Located in Control Panel\All Control Panel Items)
    5. Under Other Devices you should now see Motorola ADB Interface (Windows could not install the drivers for me)
    6. Right-click and select Update Driver Software
    7. Click on Browse my computer for driver software
    8. Click on Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer
    9. Now this is the step where I'm sure most of you messed up on. Click on Show All Devices then Next. DO NOT CLICK ON ADB INTERFACE FROM THE LIST!
    10. Click on Have Disk button
    11. Click Browse button
    12. Go to C:\ADBDrivers_v3\usb_driver\ then select android_winusb.inf and click the Open button
    13. Click OK
    14. Select Android Composite ADB Interface and click the Next button
    15. Click Yes on the Update Driver Warning window
    It should take a few seconds to install the driver. You'll get a window saying that you driver was successfully updated (click the Close button), and your phone should now show up at the top of the device list under Android Phone.

    ENJOY!!!
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2010
    • Like Like x 1
  2. ColdSteele
    Offline

    ColdSteele Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    attached .zip?
  3. hacku
    Offline

    hacku Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ.
    Ratings:
    +1
    My bad... forgot to attach the drivers.

    Updated 1st post with attachment.
  4. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    This deserves a sticky too!
  5. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    +1 on the sticky
  6. Dxub
    Offline

    Dxub New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do not have motorola ADB interface show up.
  7. WildcatNKU24
    Offline

    WildcatNKU24 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks a million and then some. Wasted an hour before witnessing your genius! :icon_ banana: IT'S PBJ TIME BABY!
  8. hacku
    Offline

    hacku Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ.
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the sticky.

    Open up a command prompt window (Start>run>cmd) and then type adb.
  9. phatjedi
    Offline

    phatjedi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brownsburg IN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you worked like a charm. I am coming over from BlackBerry, does the Droid X have an equivalent of desktop manager?
  10. zoro
    Offline

    zoro New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am getting my X this week, what is this function for?
  11. OfficeLinebacker
    Offline

    OfficeLinebacker Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. OfficeLinebacker
    Offline

    OfficeLinebacker Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool, I just did it. Off to the remove bloatware thread.

    This makes me wonder whether it would be useful to have the driver files on the SD card all the time in case I want to do this on a friend's computer.
  13. OfficeLinebacker
    Offline

    OfficeLinebacker Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whoops. Everything worked fine as far as the directions, but 'adb' is not recognized as a command...
  14. OfficeLinebacker
    Offline

    OfficeLinebacker Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well you need to download the SDK also, I guess I missed that part.
  15. *22899
    Offline

    *22899 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +5
    I'm truly interested please don't take this as an attack or anything. I have win 7 64bit and have never had any issues with ADB, maybe I just set something up right from the get go? I don't understand the trouble. I'm retired IT guy at the age 29, so really I just want to help but I don't understand this issue.
Search tags for this page
adb setup windows 7
,

how to install adb on windows 7

,
how to set up adb on windows 7
,
install adb on windows 7
,

install adb windows 7

,

motorola adb interface

,
motorola adb interface driver
,
set up adb on windows 7
,
setting up adb on windows 7
,
setup adb windows 7