How to root an X2?

Discussion in 'Droid X2 Development' started by TK40, May 26, 2011.

  1. TK40
    Offline

    TK40 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can anyone point me towards a HOWTO or good write up on rooting the X2?
    Thanks.
  2. DroidXDoes4G
    Offline

    DroidXDoes4G New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would think you would use Z4root 1.3 like on the X1 since they are pretty much the same phone.
    Not 100% sure though.
  3. zodder
    Offline

    zodder New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
  4. whodidthis
    Offline

    whodidthis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. Terri M
    Offline

    Terri M New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Z4root doesn't work with th X2.
    Use the Gingerbreak.apk to root the X2.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  6. JerseyFrankU
    Offline

    JerseyFrankU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Duh
    Hi Folks - I'll be rec. a brandy-new X2 soon -and have no desire to enjoy the bloat - even for a littl while - I believe it will arrive w/ FroYo 2.2 - is there a specific path I should choose prior to activation to get a solid root - might it be easier to do so from the git-go?
    Thank you in advance:)
  7. DROOIID
    Offline

    DROOIID New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Nope. Rooting will keep everything the same on the surface, until you change stuff. I would recommend staying stock for a few days and read up on rooting, roms, and kernels.
  8. JerseyFrankU
    Offline

    JerseyFrankU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Duh

    Thank you sir for the quick response - tho by no means a seasoned vet, i have a couple months of a rooted D1 and several roms/kernals under my belt - learnd quite a bit - (the hard way) mostly want to be sure i can get tether if need be while i'm out n about -actually have read quite a bit too - just - asking directly in case there is something pertinent i missed (w/ all the info out here...)..
  9. JerseyFrankU
    Offline

    JerseyFrankU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Duh
    hoping someone can help

    Well, took your suggstion and played stock a few days - yesterday - i took the plunge - Gingerbreak was one-click flawless - - and all was well until--:-( - hoping someone can help -
    I took my time and read till my eyes could take no more - literally all day -
    prepared a new blank card - downloadd the free versions of everything i should Titainium - etc. -created a back up -donated.. took care to select which apps to freeze -(a pared down list from the one posted elswhere) -The phone still works great/smooth/fast - but -I'm missing apps - Mail - (all my aolz are missing -as is hotmail- 2 gmails and yahoo intact - Messeging - voicemail -Browser!...The msg on the dockbar opens and shuts down immediatly - tho messeging does work if i rec/. one -- all the above - when pressed on homescreen pop a msg tht reads the app is not installed--
    I don't think i know what Im doing w/ Titainium- unfroze everything - and still the above are missing
    Back min t the cyanodaze - i would often have an issuse w/ a missing gapps -could this be a similar situation?

    would really appreciate someone in the know giving me a call - this medium is not my communication forte--

    I've reached out for help - i must be missing something in the protocol/Netiquette -cuz 0-- i can't seem to drum up --back-up - fellow enthusiasts--anyone??

  10. Underscore_Hero
    Offline

    Underscore_Hero New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    maybe it has something to do with motoblur?
  11. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you rebooted since unfreezing apps?
  12. JerseyFrankU
    Offline

    JerseyFrankU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Duh
    rebooted since unfreezing And >Underscore_Hero

    yessir -xtntedly held the power and pulled the batt...
    I believe i mentioned b4 - not sure - still bleary and need to leave 4 work - that - it's prob (hopefully?) something i dont get about TB -
    was careful to not 'freeze' anything motoblur -am in the proccess of deleting
    Also sync to dropbox - sooo slow it looks like a freeze - holds at 6-7% - seems mto be working - the alternate browser i downloadd just popped upa s synced onmy desktop....
  13. MikeJ92YJ
    Offline

    MikeJ92YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Naugatuck, Connecticut
    I Know That I Have To Restart The Launcher (I'm Using ADW) Every Time I Install, Delete, Or Freeze With TiBu To Refresh The App Drawer And Show The Icon(s) Or Remove Them.
  14. Wongway
    Offline

    Wongway New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does noone bother to root the long hard way anymore?

    I remember awhile ago, one of the benefits of rooting the hard way was that you would always keep it regardless of updates.

    Wouldn't stuff like Gingerbreak be susceptible to failing if/when the phone is updated?
  15. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is no other way to root the X2 except for using gingerbreak.
  16. rottenpixies
    Offline

    rottenpixies New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
  17. MattHenson20
    Offline

    MattHenson20 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    Sbf

    From what I've read so far, it looks like your going to have to SBF to factory settings, I would wait a little longer before I messed with MotoBlur, these phones(x and X2) look similar, but under the hood they are completely different
  18. K33pw1shen
    Offline

    K33pw1shen New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orangeville PA
    Hey just wanted to let people know if you look for k33pw1shen on YouTube I've been working on how to videos and my webpage is linked to it so you can read as well as watch how to do these things.... the sbf flash video and installation and review of minimalx will be up soon
  19. rottenpixies
    Offline

    rottenpixies New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Good stuff!!

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  20. mstotsky
    Offline

    mstotsky New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    X2 noob

    Whats up everybody? Im new to the forum so be gentle. I just rooted my X2 with Gingerbreak and now I am officially running the V^ supercharger script. First question, how do I check status of my supercharger because it seems to need a higher setting. I have it now running on 3 - but not aggresive and wanted to hear what you guys thought. Second, what is CyanogenMod? It seems to be popular amongst supercharged folks.

    I appreciate any advice offered.
Search tags for this page

droid x2 root

,
droid x2 root apk
,
droid x2 root.apk
,

how to root droid x2

,
how to root my droid x2
,
how to root x2-01
,
root droid x2 apk
,
root droid x2. apk
,
root my droid x2
,
rooting the droid x2
,
rooting x2
,
should i root my droid x2