1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Thinking of Rooting my X2

Discussion in 'Droid X2 Development' started by ck3jr, Dec 20, 2011.

  1. ck3jr
    Offline

    ck3jr New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honea Path, South Carolina
    Hello peeps, I'm thinking of rooting my x2 and I wanted to know if there is a video that anyone suggest to watch or basic instructions to read on this. I rooted the original droid when it was out but thats been a while and I'm not to sure I remember all the steps to doing it without bricking my phone. I've had other droid phones since then but never wanted to root because of warranty issues. So if anyone is willing to help a rookie out with this, I would appreciate it.




    Thanks Chad

    Also running 2.3.4 Android Version on the x2
  2. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    http://www.droidxforums.com/forum/showthread.php?t=41454

    Simple instructions to root with zergRUSH. Takes about 5 minutes. Just unzip the exploit, double click runme, plug your phone into the computer, press any key, after the phone reboots you're rooted.

    Piece of cake.

    Sent from my Android device.
  3. ck3jr
    Offline

    ck3jr New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honea Path, South Carolina
    Got it and thx again.. Is there anything else I need to do after I have installed Liberty3? Anything to speed the phone up more and themes?
  4. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    I don't use liberty because it doesn't have data roaming. But I can tell you a few tricks.

    In rom toolbox go to build prop tweaks and set everything like this:
    [​IMG]

    Then goto the build prop editor, tap the pencil in the top right corner and scroll all the way to the bottom (be very careful not to accidentally change anything) and add a new line. Make sure it's exact, I recommend you copy and paste it!

    dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:jit

    Then tap save. After that reboot, if you didn't mess up it should boot fine and be quicker!

    Sent from my Android device.
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2011
  5. ck3jr
    Offline

    ck3jr New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honea Path, South Carolina
    Not to sure on the data roaming never used it, should I? Which rom r u using or do u suggest to use? I'm running 2.3.4 version.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  6. ck3jr
    Offline

    ck3jr New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honea Path, South Carolina
    Can't find where to add a line, I scroll to the bottom but all I see is the build: prop line at the top.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  7. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Just like this
    [​IMG]

    Sent from my Android device.
  8. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico


    Sent from my Android device.
  9. ck3jr
    Offline

    ck3jr New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honea Path, South Carolina
    Ok I'll try this when I get home tonight. What rom r u running? And thx again!

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  10. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Eclipse 2.0.2 with the same mods I told you to do. Except I disabled all the cpu mods that comes with eclipse.

    Sent from my Android device.
  11. ck3jr
    Offline

    ck3jr New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Honea Path, South Carolina
    Can eclipse 2.0.2 still be found and is it 2.3.4 or 2.3.5? If I put eclipse on is it just a wipe data and install or do I have to do the sbf revert back to stock deal?


    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  12. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    It's based off 2.3.5

    Here's my install guide with everything you need. http://www.droidxforums.com/forum/showthread.php?p=500036

    Sent from my Android device.
Search tags for this page

tweaks build.prop

,

what is rooting my droid x2