No computer, want to root X2

Discussion in 'Droid X2 Development' started by Cloverfields88, Nov 13, 2011.

  1. Cloverfields88
    Offline

    Cloverfields88 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    602 OG
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone give me some advise on if and how to root my X2 without a computer. This will be my 2nd root. The first was a Citrus I bought my mother and I managed to brick it. I've been scared to root a phone since. But I think I figured out what went wrong.


    Thx!!! :)



    Sent from my DROID X2
     
  2. adamwhitehead
    Offline

    adamwhitehead Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are on froyo(2.2.2), you don't need a PC... but if on gb(2.3.3 or 2.3.4) you will.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  3. Cloverfields88
    Offline

    Cloverfields88 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    602 OG
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do have 2.3.4



    Sent from my DROID X2
     
  4. Cloverfields88
    Offline

    Cloverfields88 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    602 OG
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can I go back to froyo without a computer?



    Sent from my DROID X2
     
  5. adamwhitehead
    Offline

    adamwhitehead Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, sorry. Unless there's something I don't know about.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  6. Animal_Inside
    Offline

    Animal_Inside New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well that answers my question too. So both droids I own,are neither true stand alone rootable phones ( droidx2 with 2.3.4 and Droid 1 with 2.2.2 )???,

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  7. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    You should be able to root the D1 without a computer.

    Boot Manager
     
  8. Animal_Inside
    Offline

    Animal_Inside New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ty Brad
    I know its not the right thread, but could ya point me in right direction?

    Btw wth is up with tha weather in Texas . I'm about to wear out my thermostat . Heater to AC every other day.
     
  9. Cloverfields88
    Offline

    Cloverfields88 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    602 OG
    Ratings:
    +0






    You can root the OG Droid with z4root. I like z4root. It has the option to temporarily root or permanent root. After rooted with the permanent option it can be undone by z4root too
     
  10. adamwhitehead
    Offline

    adamwhitehead Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought z4 was just for 2.2.1, I know gingerbreak v1.2 will root 2.2.2 though... it could be different on the og Droid though

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  11. Cloverfields88
    Offline

    Cloverfields88 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    602 OG
    Ratings:
    +0
    Z4 will work in 2.2.2, gingerbreak I haven't beagle to go to work on 2.3.4 so Idk.
     
  12. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    Here is Z4 Root:
    http://db.tt/xpSBRDtT

    And the weather is always weird down here. Where I live, there's always wind so when it gets cold, the windchill is unbearable lol.

    Where are you at in Texas?

    Boot Manager
     
  13. tituswife
    Offline

    tituswife Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Why no pc if froyo. If you root on froyo, what happens with GB update? BTW, why froyo as a name? I thought they were all dessert names. Thanks!

    Sent from my stock Thunderbolt
     
  14. Animal_Inside
    Offline

    Animal_Inside New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm in Texas City . Just north of Galveston and south of Houston

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  15. adamwhitehead
    Offline

    adamwhitehead Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    For froyo (2.2.1) or in the x2's case (2.2.2) there are exploits that will work on the phone themselves(z4 and gingerbreak)... and if on froyo and rooted updating to gb will break root. There is a slight possibility that Voodoo ota root keeper could restore root from froyo to gb but I've never tested it, and as far as the name is concerned I have no clue

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
droid x2 root
,
droid x2 root without computer
,
how do i root my droid x2 without a computer
,
how do you root a droid x2 without a computer
,

how to root a droid x2 without a computer

,
how to root android droid x2
,

how to root droid x2 without computer

,

root droid x2 no computer

,

root droid x2 without computer

,
z4root droid x2 2.3.5