[How To] Return your Galaxy Nexus to 100% Stock, Locked Bootloader

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus Development' started by jntdroid, Dec 16, 2011.

  1. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    here you go: gnex_restore - Minus

    I've updated the OP with that link until John gets it hosted
  2. CanopicJar
    Offline

    CanopicJar New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks!

    Travis
  3. JohnDroid
    Online

    JohnDroid Guest

  4. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,353
    Likes Received:
    547
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
  5. JohnDroid
    Online

    JohnDroid Guest

    No prob, our link is faster then theirs! :)
  6. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    Feel free to go ahead and edit the op as I won't be around much tonight.

    sent from my phone
  7. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    updated OP with John's link as the main and minus as the mirror, so hopefully we're good now ;)
  8. TauntingBull
    Offline

    TauntingBull New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I need to return the phone to VZ for a factory replacement but I was on the official 4.0.4. How to return to the VZ factory 4.0.4?
  9. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,353
    Likes Received:
    547
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Should be able to go back to 4.0.2 then take the update

    Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus using Xparent ICS
  10. loccoelf
    Offline

    loccoelf New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,

    I am not able to use a USB cable since the USB port is burned out. I am using ADB over WIFI and when I do the 2nd command "fastboot [FONT=inherit !important][FONT=inherit !important]flash[/FONT][/FONT] bootloader bootloader-toro-primekk15.img" it just says "WAITING FOR DEVICE". Any ideas? Or does the ADB over WIFI not work in the bootloader?
  11. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    It probably doesn't work for the bootloader - the bootloader uses Fastboot, not ADB. I've never used ADB over Wifi, but that's probably a pretty safe bet.
  12. djdanko1
    Offline

    djdanko1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am running into a problem and I have been trying for a few hours to get past it with no luck. I rooted and unlocked my phone with my MAC, but want to revert it to stock using my PC because my mac is not with me. (not sure if this makes a difference or not) My device shows up in adb and reboots it into bootloader but once I try the second step it just says waiting for device and never gets past that. What can I do to fix this? I have to send this phone back in a few days so I want to make it stock before then. Thanks
  13. citronbull
    Offline

    citronbull New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    I'm on 4.0.4 now. How do I go back to 4.0.2? I want to relock back to stock and unlock again so I can root properly. CWM keeps giving me an error.
  14. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you say CWM is giving you an error, what error is it giving you?

    You don't need to go back to 4.0.2 to root. You will be adding unnecessary steps to your process.

    What is your end result you are trying to achieve? Stock 4.0.4 with root? JellyBean? Custom ROM? I ask only cause, my recommendation for each one will be a little different.
  15. citronbull
    Offline

    citronbull New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    The error I'm getting is a blue triangle on chest when I try Recovery Mode. I am now rooted on ICS and want to go to flash a JB custom ROM.
  16. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That I believe is the stock recovery, you probably didn't flash the recovery to be permanent (by moving/deleting/renaming /system/recover-from-boot.p ). If you don't do that, the stock recovery will come back every time you boot into a ROM that has that file available (basically stock one).

    You don't really have to worry about "permanent recovery" if you do it like this:

    0 - Unlock if you haven't done so already, I am assuming you already have though.
    1 - Download said ROM and other necessary files (Gapps for example) and put them on the sdcard somewhere you can find them (I make a folder to reduce clutter, but it doesn't matter).
    2 - Reboot into the bootloader and use fastboot to install the custom recovery to the device.
    3 - From the bootloader, select reboot recovery.
    4 - Make a backup in the recovery.
    5 - Follow the instructions of the ROM install (probably something along the lines of wipe, install ROM, install Gapps, reboot).

    I can go into more detail if necessary, but perhaps starting a new thread would be ideal for that as we are getting kinda off topic here.
  17. citronbull
    Offline

    citronbull New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    When I get to recovery mode, I get the red triangle on the chest of Android. I have to do a battery pull after that. Im unable to flash or do a backup.
  18. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That still is the stock recovery, as I mentioned in my previous post. A droid laying down on his back with a triangle with an exclamation point in it. I believe if you press both volume buttons (up and down) you go into the stock recovery, but this isn't helpful to you. Although you should be able to reboot it from there without having to pull the battery. But stock recovery doesn't have the ability to make backups, or flash custom files.

    You need to reflash the custom recovery via fastboot again. Either something went wrong or the file I mentioned in my previous post restored the original recovery again. What guide are you using? Are you unlocked yet (on the bootlogo screen with the white Google, is there a lock)?

    Also, since this thread is for how to return your device to 100% stock and locked bootloader, and that is exactly the opposite of what you are trying to achieve, perhaps starting a new thread would be ideal. Kinda silly to keep going further and further off topic in this thread.
  19. citronbull
    Offline

    citronbull New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    I am rooted and unlocked. How do I reflash the custom recovery? I used the Galaxy Nexus Root Toolkit the first time.
  20. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can use the toolkit again to flash it, on the pictures I saw an option for "permanent CWM" which is what you want. Really I have 0 experience with the "one click" methods.

    Otherwise you can do it manually. http://www.droidforums.net/forum/ga...kmod-recovery-cdma-edition-final-version.html <-- like that (watch the video). I would download a more recent recovery than that one though. CWM6 or TWRP would be my recommendations as some folks seem convinced older versions of CWM and JB don't get along.

    I don't use ROM manager, but if you are rooted, you may be able to use ROM Manager to flash CWM permanently.

    Once again, you should really start a new thread for your situation. This thread is about locking your bootloader and going back to stock.
Search tags for this page
flash galaxy nexus back to stock
,
galaxy nexus back to stock
,
galaxy nexus revert to stock
,

how to restore galaxy nexus to stock

,

how to return galaxy nexus to stock

,
how to take galaxy nexus back to 100% stock
,
lock galaxy nexus bootloader
,

restore galaxy nexus to stock

,

return galaxy nexus to stock

,
return to stock galaxy nexus
,
returning galaxy nexus to stock
,
verizon galaxy nexus back to stock