[How To] Return your Galaxy Nexus to 100% Stock, Locked Bootloader

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus Development' started by jntdroid, Dec 16, 2011.

  1. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,445
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +297
    ok, main link in the OP is fixed...
     
  2. techinv

    techinv Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Awesome, thanks for this. Will grab it right away!
     
  3. techinv

    techinv Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Been on step 9 of the directions in the OP for 15 mins

    Actually had to do all steps twice. First time, I ended up back at 4.0.4.

    Anyway, unlocked and relocked again.


    On the second time around, been stuck at this step for 15 mins or so on the bolded step, so I ctrl c out of it!!
    I hit the power button and now I seem to be stuck in boot animation.

    Any suggestions?




    C:\Users\Admin\Documents\Nexus Restore to Stock>fastboot -w update image-mysid-i
    cl53f.zip
    archive does not contain 'boot.sig'
    archive does not contain 'recovery.sig'
    archive does not contain 'system.sig'
    --------------------------------------------
    Bootloader Version...: PRIMEKK15
    Baseband Version.....: I515.EK02
    Serial Number........: 01466E621101A00E
    --------------------------------------------
    checking product... OKAY [ 0.007s]
    checking version-bootloader... OKAY [ 0.009s]
    checking version-baseband... OKAY [ 0.008s]
    checking version-cdma... OKAY [ 0.008s]
    sending 'boot' (4074 KB)... OKAY [ 0.471s]
    writing 'boot'... OKAY [ 0.299s]
    sending 'recovery' (4406 KB)... OKAY [ 0.508s]
    writing 'recovery'... OKAY [ 1.035s]
    sending 'system' (325583 KB)... OKAY [ 36.938s]
    writing 'system'... ^C

    C:\Users\Admin\Documents\Nexus Restore to Stock>
    C:\Users\Admin\Documents\Nexus Restore to Stock>
    C:\Users\Admin\Documents\Nexus Restore to Stock>fastboot reboot-bootloader
    rebooting into bootloader... OKAY [ 0.007s]
    finished. total time: 0.008s

    C:\Users\Admin\Documents\Nexus Restore to Stock>fastboot oem lock
    ... OKAY [ 0.477s]
    finished. total time: 0.478s





    C:\Users\Admin\Documents\Nexus Restore to Stock>
     
  4. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,445
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +297
    weird... that part always takes the longest, but I don't believe it ever took 15 minutes... hmm
     
  5. techinv

    techinv Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    well, I'm definitely stuck in boot animation now.

    I think I may have shot myself in the foot here, was rushing and did not use 7zip, used winzip to extract.

    When I connect the phone to my laptop now, not able to talk to it with adb.
     
  6. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,445
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +297
    pull the battery and boot into the bootloader (press and hold volume up + volume down, then press/hold power at the same time), then you can start over from there
     
  7. techinv

    techinv Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    OK, thx for the suggestion.

    Started from scratch and have been sitting at the same point in step 9 now for about 13 mins 'writing system'.

    Not sure how long to let it sit there, or what to do if that command never finishes?
     
  8. techinv

    techinv Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    All's well that ends well I guess.

    Ctrl C'd out of the script and finished the remaining instructions.

    When I rebooted, it stayed at boot animation for a long time, but then finally came out of it and then went to boot animation again(!!!) before going to the activation screen.

    Thanks again jntdroid for your help with this!
     
  9. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,445
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +297
    Weird that it took that long but glad it worked out eventually... add that to the list of weird ways this method worked :)

    sent from my phone
     
  10. streetmike

    streetmike Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where do I find "bootloader-toro-primekk15.img" I downloaded the the.tgz and "extract here" with 7 zip but all that comes out is a .tar.


    whats going on? lol

    Please help.
     
  11. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,632
    Likes Received:
    734
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +759
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Have you tried unzipping the .tar to see what's inside it?

    Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus using Xparent ICS
     
  12. streetmike

    streetmike Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    MI
    Ratings:
    +0

    lol Yea I found that after I posted. I was like hmm could it be in there? And there it was!

    One question though.
    So I ran through all the steps up to step 8. The phone restarts and does the loading screen then restarts again. Everything is fine, but in order to finish locking it down, do I have to go through and sign into my account before I finish?
     
  13. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,632
    Likes Received:
    734
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +759
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    When I did this I didn't lock mine. But I wouldn't think you need to sign in to finish. I'd try locking it 1st

    Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus using Xparent ICS
     
  14. streetmike

    streetmike Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea I ended up having to sign in to enable USB debugging. Hopefully exchanging them under BB warranty tomorrow. Both my sisters and mine are horrendous in signal, missed texts and calls all the time. I am debating on whether to try another GN or try the razr maxx if they let us. Thanks!
     
  15. CanopicJar

    CanopicJar New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like the original link is down again...
     
Search tags for this page
flash galaxy nexus back to stock
,
galaxy nexus back to stock
,
galaxy nexus revert to stock
,
how to restore galaxy nexus to stock
,
how to return galaxy nexus to stock
,

restore galaxy nexus to stock

,

return galaxy nexus to stock

,
return to stock galaxy nexus
,
returning galaxy nexus to stock
,
verizon galaxy nexus back to stock