[How To] Return your Galaxy Nexus to 100% Stock, Locked Bootloader

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus Development' started by jntdroid, Dec 16, 2011.

  1. otter34

    otter34 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I stopped after step 8 but apparently lost root? Titanium, rom manager and other apps say i'm not rooted.whatshould I do?I went into recovery and restored axiom. That works fine. If I do this again and follow all 10 steps then root again will it wipe out the roms I backed up already or will I still have those?
     
  2. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,946
    Likes Received:
    983
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,050
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    You lost root basically because you installed the stock rom. You just need to re-root again. You can be rooted on a stock rom & those apps will work again. Axiom is a rooted rom, that's why those apps worked then. But I'm not sure what all the process wipes. You may want to have them on your computer too, just in case.

    Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus
     
  3. otter34

    otter34 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That makes sense thanks. I made a back up after I returned to stock. If I use that rom and root again will that wipe everything, i.e. my backed up roms
     
  4. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,946
    Likes Received:
    983
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,050
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    I haven't tried this process yet, so I don't know for sure what all it will wipe/delete. But if you want to save your backups, they're in sd/clockwork/backup. I would save them to my computer just to make sure.

    Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus
     
  5. buffhawk84

    buffhawk84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    simple

    this method works like magic - THANKS!!!!! ::huge breathe of relief::
     
  6. NEPADroid

    NEPADroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried the manual version through ADB and the "fastboot flash radio radio-toro-i515.ek02.img" command kept erring out.took the cdma, but not the base... gonna try with this and see how it goes...


    Well I finally just gave in and used WUGs utility and I now have a stock phone again... NOT FOR LONG... LOL
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2012
  7. xkape

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    I had to seriously do some hunting on this one... your directions should read... fastboot flash radio-cdma radio-cdma-toro-i515.ek05.img

    Just so ya know. :)
     
  8. prezmc

    prezmc New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks!

    The instructions worked perfectly on my unlocked gnex with 4.0.4. Thanks for the guidance. FYI: I was unable to download the script to try it.
     
  9. HikenGruven

    HikenGruven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Towson, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm unlocked, but not rooted. Can this still apply? I think I need to exchange my phone.
     
  10. tek112

    tek112 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rapture
    Ratings:
    +0
    All you have to do is reboot into fastboot and use adb to lock the bootloader.

    If I may ask, why would you be unlocked, but not rooted?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
  11. HikenGruven

    HikenGruven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Towson, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    It took some guts just to unlock my boot loader, so I just kept putting rooting off.

    Can you please provide for specific instructions for using fast boot and adb to re-lock the boot loader? Will it be enough to turn my phone into Verizon?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  12. HikenGruven

    HikenGruven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Towson, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    I should add that I have Android SDK installed.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
flash galaxy nexus back to stock
,
galaxy nexus back to stock
,
galaxy nexus revert to stock
,
how to restore galaxy nexus to stock
,
how to return galaxy nexus to stock
,

restore galaxy nexus to stock

,

return galaxy nexus to stock

,
return to stock galaxy nexus
,
returning galaxy nexus to stock
,
verizon galaxy nexus back to stock