[How To] Return your Galaxy Nexus to 100% Stock, Locked Bootloader

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus Development' started by jntdroid, Dec 16, 2011.

  1. tek112

    tek112 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rapture
    Ratings:
    +0
    All you have to do is reboot into fastboot and use adb to lock the bootloader.

    If I may ask, why would you be unlocked, but not rooted?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
  2. HikenGruven

    HikenGruven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Towson, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    It took some guts just to unlock my boot loader, so I just kept putting rooting off.

    Can you please provide for specific instructions for using fast boot and adb to re-lock the boot loader? Will it be enough to turn my phone into Verizon?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  3. HikenGruven

    HikenGruven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Towson, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    I should add that I have Android SDK installed.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  4. tek112

    tek112 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rapture
    Ratings:
    +0
    Trust me, you have to relax. I understand the anxiety, these phones ain't cheap! However, this is a developers phone and was meant to be played with. No matter how bad you think you may have jacked it up, it can almost always be restored. Sometimes the methods are harder, but the end result is the same. I have rooted, flashed about a dozen times, restored to stock, went to Verizon for service, rooted about another dozen times, went back to stock, had Verizon look at my device again and now I am on my 5th flash. These things are very durable.


    Now, back on topic. If all you did was unlock the device, all you have to do (provided you have the necessary drivers for ADB) is follow the last two steps of the first post. Open a command prompt (hold down windows key and letter "R" and then type "cmd" without quotes and press enter) and navigate to the ADB folder ex. type "cd desktop\New Folder" without quotes and "New Folder" being the name of the folder you created on your desktop with the ADB files. Your command line should look like this: C:\Users\username\Desktop\New Folder>

    Then:

    Type - "fastboot reboot-bootloader"

    Press enter (the phone should reboot to the Android Guy)

    Type - "fastboot oem lock"

    Press enter

    After that, when you reboot the phone you should see the white Google logo and nothing else. If you still see the white unlock symbol at the bottom you did not unlock it correctly.

    Good luck!
     
  5. HikenGruven

    HikenGruven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Towson, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    This message has been lingering for 10 minutes or so and I've tried a couple of times, restarted my phone, computer, with no success. USB debugging is enabled too. Any other ideas?
     
  6. HikenGruven

    HikenGruven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Towson, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    While I'm thinking about it, I thought this might be a driver problem, but all that was installed when I unlocked with Android SDK. Is there another driver I'm not thinking of?
     
  7. tek112

    tek112 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rapture
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a workaround for you. Power off the device manually. Boot into the bootloader by holding down the vol up and down buttons while powering on the phone. You will see the android guy. Then in your command prompt navigated to the adm folder type "fastboot oem lock" and you will see the lock state at the bottom in red instantly change.

    edit: Please note that doing this will wipe your device!
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2012
  8. HikenGruven

    HikenGruven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Towson, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    That was flawless, thank you! I wish unlocking was that simple and quick. I should not that it did not wipe my device, but it did take a few minutes to find service. I'm assuming Verizon will want this back once they call me back. The reception on this thing is terrible. My wife's OG Droid blows it out of the water on 3G speed and get's a better signal everywhere I do.
     
  9. tek112

    tek112 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rapture
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is terrible on all of them. In fact, they are starting to roll out a 4.0.4 OTA that you can flash yourself if you are so inclined. It has dramatically improved my 3G and 4G.
     
  10. HikenGruven

    HikenGruven Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Towson, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    The best upload speed possible I can get on this is 3 kilobytes per second for 3G in the best signal area that I know. I asked a friend who lives in a different area but has the same phone to test his and his reached 40 kilobytes or so per second. It would be nice if Google pushed these updates for those of us who aren't flashing our phones, at least not yet.
     
  11. tek112

    tek112 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rapture
    Ratings:
    +0
    Something is definitely up. My suggestion is to get a new SIM card. And for the love of God don't try to force a *228 update on your phone, it will damage your SIM.

    FYI, locking the bootloader doesn't wipe the device. Unlocking it does.

    Remember, there is a "stock" 4.0.4 update floating around with stock 4.0.4 radios. Just in case you get board waiting.
     
  12. techinv

    techinv Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,

    The download location for GNexRestore.bat in post 25 and the original manual script are empty. Any possibility of getting them reestablished?

    Thanks
     
  13. tek112

    tek112 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rapture
    Ratings:
    +0
  14. techinv

    techinv Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2

    Thanks for providing this, but I still need a bit of help.
    Apologies if these are newbie questions.

    I'm working off of the OP's instructions and have figured out to append the OS of the machine that I'm on for the adb and fastboot commands.

    However, I don't see the image files from the original instructions in your zip file, namely

    fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-toro-primekk15.img
    fastboot reboot-bootloader​
    fastboot flash radio radio-toro-i515.ek02.img
    fastboot reboot-bootloader​
    fastboot flash radio-cdma radio-cdma-toro-i515.ek05.img [might hang for a few]


    Are they renamed or am I just missing them? Help?

    Thanks
     
  15. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,445
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +297
    The files are zipping up now - sorry about the links in the OP, will fix later...

    Until the .zip is done uploading, here's a link to the folder on my dropbox that has each individual file to download, and simply stick in the same folder as your adb and fastboot files.

    http://db.tt/c4EMd6i0

    There might be a file or two in there you don't need, so make sure you grab the right ones.
     
Search tags for this page
flash galaxy nexus back to stock
,
galaxy nexus back to stock
,
galaxy nexus revert to stock
,
how to restore galaxy nexus to stock
,
how to return galaxy nexus to stock
,

restore galaxy nexus to stock

,

return galaxy nexus to stock

,
return to stock galaxy nexus
,
returning galaxy nexus to stock
,
verizon galaxy nexus back to stock