Hot Spot???

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by BigE"s DROID, Jun 26, 2010.

  1. BigE"s DROID
    Offline

    BigE"s DROID New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It says in the specs that the x is capable of being a hot spot but with an additional monthly charge....i for 1 will not pay another $30 a month!!! is there anyway around the charge besides rooting??? I love the wireless tether and have to have it so this is gonna be my only drawback for the x. I "upgraded" from my droid to the Incredible and just got my tether back and dont want to wait if i upgrade to the x!! Any ideas??
  2. zoomzoom9
    Offline

    zoomzoom9 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have a Droid yet (waiting for the X), but I would imagine you'd have to pay even to tether with your Incredible (my wife has that and that's what the VZW reps told us). How are you tethering with the Incredible without paying the fee? I'd imagine if you're able to with the Incredible, that you could do the same thing with the X.
  3. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "Hot-spot" will be a $20 option for the X
  4. Jaxidian
    Offline

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    "Yes" is the answer to almost all forms of your question (I'll anticipate some forms of it):

    Can I tether with the Droid X? Yes. There is a $20/mo addon option from Verizon that turns yoru phone into a wireless hotspot for a handful of devices. Note that this will have a 2GB limit and you will be charged something like $50 per additional GB!

    Can I tether with the Droid X without paying this additional fee? Yes. If you root your Droid X (if/when it becomes possible), then you can download Android Wifi Tether for Root. This turns your phone into a wireless hotspot. If you do this, you will not have a 2GB limit and it will be free, but you will also void your phone's warranty and you may permanently break it as well. This is NOT the "obvious" thing you should do unless you are willing to break your $600? phone and go out and buy a new one. (NOTE: As of now, there is not yet a Droid X version of this application. However, once the Droid X is rooted and this method is possible, it won't be long until this will be available.)
    [​IMG]

    Can I tether with the Droid X without paying this additional fee and without rooting my phone? Yes. However, this method requires you tether via USB or Bluetooth and NOT via wireless. There is an application on the Android Market called "PdaNet free edition" that allows you to do this. Doing it this way, you do not void your warranty and you do not have a 2GB limit. However, this will not work for all situations. For example, you cannot use this method to provide internet access to your iPad.
    [​IMG]


    These are your options. None are ideal. The first option costs money and is restrictive, but is the easiest and safest. The second option is the riskiest (and therefore potentially the most expensive) but had the best end-result. The third option works well if you only want to tether to your laptop and you're computer-literate enough to operate the processes required to connect in that way - i.e. it's a good middle-of-the-road solution that contains no risk and no cost.
  5. supersaki
    Offline

    supersaki New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The thing is, FroYo has the hotspot/usb tether built-in. I don't know how quickly the Droid X will get 2.2, but I think VZW would delay the release until they can disable that and put in their own crap software, VZ Access Manager (and charge the extra $20 for it as well). This was the situation with WinMo as far as tethering, and I don't see it changing for Android.

    If/when they get the Droid X rooted, you can use the builtin features of FroYo and not worry about the extra fees from Verizon.
  6. Jaxidian
    Offline

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Yeah, no doubt Verizon will strip/cripple/control that feature of FroYo. It's pretty much a given (I believe at some point, Google has used the language, "... if the carrier enables it"). If anything, they'll just use that and tie it to the VZ Access Manager behind the scenes (or on their servers).

    However, you may be incorrect that simply rooting the phone will allow people to use that for free. Imagine the scenario where Verizon breaks or removes that feature - in this case, you'd have to install a custom ROM. However, word is that rooting the phone will be the easy part but getting a custom ROM installed will be the hard part (since the bootloader is signed and that will be much harder, although not impossible, to get around). So not only will they need to root but they MAY need to also install a custom ROM (if Verizon completely removes or breaks it). Regardless, though, the options I mentioned would still work if they can simply attain root (and I wasn't going to try and explain installing custom ROMs, much less how to attain root :p ). But yes, if we can root the phone and install custom ROMs, then that opens up a ton of other options too. I'm guessing people who know how to do that won't be asking such questions as these, though... ;-)
  7. kodiak799
    Offline

    kodiak799 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,876
    Likes Received:
    238
    Trophy Points:
    63
    So what does everyone use for a wireless tether app? I was unable to get barnacle to work on my Win7 laptop.

    I'm using Android wifi tether (wireless tether for root), and it seems to be a bit finicky, but was able to get it to work - got upwards of 700kbps on channel 11 (I don't have the best 3G signal in my apartment). However, my computer won't connect automatically (have to constantly re-enter password) and when I enable MAC filtering my computer will connect but not have internet access.

    Thoughts?
  8. hendrix
    Offline

    hendrix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used wireless tether for root on my droid.
  9. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use wireless tether if needed. Less than 1gb a month as I have a aircard from work that I can use :)
  10. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    This is why i am waiting for the "X" to have root established before i purchase it. I would love the bigger screen but love the wifi tether i have now.
  11. Jaxidian
    Offline

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    I use WiFi Tether for Root on my G1 and it works great! The reason you have to manually connect every time is because it's an ad hoc network instead of an infrastructure network. Windows tries not to automatically connect to ad hoc networks for security reasons. I've had no problems with it, though, other than my battery draining faster than it charges. :p
  12. magikmarkur
    Offline

    magikmarkur New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY
    2GB limit per how often?
  13. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Billing Cycle.....
  14. magikmarkur
    Offline

    magikmarkur New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY
    Who's billing cycle? VZW or the apps?
  15. hendrix
    Offline

    hendrix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Verizon... Why would you pay an app maker (in this case, motorola) per data that is used over verizon's network?
  16. magikmarkur
    Offline

    magikmarkur New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY
    Makes sense, sorry brain fart.
  17. ejcrossl
    Offline

    ejcrossl New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ Desert
    Aircard vs. Hotspot

    Have you compared the hotspot usage vs the aircard usage? Is the aircard faster or the same? I assume they are the same speed (as long as only 1 device using the hotspot), but want to make sure.
    Any issues w/ using hotspot on a corporate laptop?
  18. Dragon3463
    Offline

    Dragon3463 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Verizon is notorious about putting bloatware on their phones cause someone pays them too. so they ruin a good phone and then pass it on to you (the consumer) to pay.

    All the while, they are laughing their asses off at you and me, rolling in our hard earn dollars..
Similar Threads
  1. Machines
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    13,310
  2. that_1_guy
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    2,882
  3. the11
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,171
  4. hyperslug
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    2,156
  5. xtor
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,792
Loading...
Search tags for this page
can you get hotspot from month to month
,

cspire hot spot 20.00 for 1 gb bypass

,

do driods have hot spots

,

droid hot spot

,

hot spot on old droid

,

how do i know if my htc plan has jotspot

,
how to hot spot on a droid
,
how to see if i am being charged for hot spot?
,
how to use old droid as a hotspot
,
how to use old motorola droid as a hotspot with bluetooth
,
phone that has hot spot without charge when
,
why is thier an x on my hot spot