Home Screen/App Drawer Empty

SixEighteen

Reaction score
Hello all, I hope I'm posting this in the right place. Also, further apologies if this is a common problem with the OG Droid, already has known fixes, etc etc. I'm an unabashed noob, despite having had my Droid since May '10.

Basically, the issue is that, increasingly often, when I hit the home button to return to the home screen from web browsing or using an app, the home screen is completely empty - in fact, all five screens are. Sometimes I can move between them with the dots on either side at the bottom of the screen, but sometimes not. It can sometimes take up to 10 or 15 seconds for all the icons to repopulate; while that doesn't sound like a long time, when you're staring at your phone waiting for it when you need to do something, it can seem like an eternity. I also cannot access any apps in the drawer during this period, it too simply shows up as empty.

Some info: stock Droid, Android 2.2.2, not rooted; I do have quite a few apps, including Advanced Task Killer and Lookout. Any other info needed?

BayouFlyFisher

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
Hello all, I hope I'm posting this in the right place. Also, further apologies if this is a common problem with the OG Droid, already has known fixes, etc etc. I'm an unabashed noob, despite having had my Droid since May '10.