Help with Setting up Google Voice

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by droidrunnr, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. droidrunnr

    droidrunnr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am trying to set up google voice.
    I have activated the account. What I am trying to figure out is how to do texts...

    I don't find a google voice widget (although I have downloaded app) that I can see. Should I find one?

    How do I send texts? Is there a way to view how texts are being sent (which number)?

    I have had someone send me a text and I can see it, but how do I create one???

    thanks.
     
  2. Dragoro

    Dragoro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    The app is called voice, not google voice.
     
  3. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    Actually, in the Market it is called Google Voice :)
     
  4. droidrunnr

    droidrunnr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Either way how do I configure?
     
  5. Dragoro

    Dragoro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Once its on your phone, its called voice :p
     
  6. Dragoro

    Dragoro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    hold press on homescreen, make a short cut to Voice, then open the voice app.
     
  7. droidrunnr

    droidrunnr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now I see its a phone icon...

    So how do I find how its configured for texts?
     
  8. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    Crazy Google ;)
     
  9. Dragoro

    Dragoro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Open the Voice app, click on menu button and choose compose.
     
  10. psrumors

    psrumors Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cartersville, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    After you have downloaded the GV app and have it signed into your account open Voice and then settings, compose....that is the txt app.
     
  11. droidrunnr

    droidrunnr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I see how to do it by pushing the menu button
    Got one sent. Thanks.

    One other question I was trying to do a bandwidth check and several of the sites said I needed flash player 8 or higher, but when I go to download it says Droid 2.2 has it.

    Where do I find what version and how can I get it uploaded?
     
  12. travelingfool

    travelingfool Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If all you are trying to do is a bandwidth test, search for "speedtest.net Speed Test" in the Market. It's a great app.