HELP! Droid 3 in bootloop.

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by NickMoore92, Dec 1, 2011.

  1. NickMoore92

    NickMoore92 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My phone went into a bootloop after i had rooted and after i enabled the Droid 3 bootstrap, I have access to recovery and fastboot, I'm following these instructions [SBF] Droid 3 Fastboot files (5.5.959 and 5.6.890) - RootzWiki

    Has anyone else had this problem? Anything I should know before attempting to flash?
     
  2. Shimmy549

    Shimmy549 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What method did you use to root the phone?



    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  3. NickMoore92

    NickMoore92 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used Pete's (psouza4) one click moto root tool.
     
  4. Shimmy549

    Shimmy549 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, I'm heading to bed. Before I go, I'll add something.

    SBF should take you back to square one. You should have a nice, clean phone to work with. Whatever method you used to root (I used Pete's One-Click), just make sure you're double-checking the instructions. You might want to install an app like Root Checker to make sure the root is working properly. Also, after your phone boots up for the first time after obtaining root and you're sure root is working right, shut it down and turn it back on again, the normal way, before you install Bootstrap. If there's no bootloop, then that would indicate that there's a problem with your installation of Bootstrap.

    I don't know if you downloaded a custom ROM, as well. If so, you might want to skip flashing it again until you've confirmed that the root and recovery are functioning properly.

    Hope this helps you narrow down the problem.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  5. NickMoore92

    NickMoore92 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome. Thanks for the help!
     
  6. acoers

    acoers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. Cdjones187

    Cdjones187 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dont enable safe system unless you plan on flashing a rom to it. Dont know if that helps but just throwing it out there
     
  8. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    He's talking about bootstrap, not safestrap. Fwiw
     
  9. Cdjones187

    Cdjones187 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, he said 'enabled' I don't know why I thought he meant safestrap =P
     
Search tags for this page
avatar rom droid 3 bootloop
,
bootloop droid 3
,
doid 3 bootloop
,

droid 3 boot loop

,
droid3 loops at startup
,
droid 3 reboot loop
,
droid 3 won't reboot into recovery
,
how to bootloop d3
,
motorola droid 3 reboot loop
,
my droid 3 boot loop